Type to search

Architects and designers from around the world celebrate at IDEA Gala 2019 party


Architects and designers from around the world celebrate at IDEA Gala 2019 party


Architects and interior designers from all over Australia cheered on extraordinary local design at The Timber Yard in Melbourne for this year’s IDEA Gala party.

The event, on 22 November, celebrated the 16 project category winners and five overall design award winners, which were revealed on the night.

Flack Studio, Genesin Studio, BVN, Woods Bagot, HASSELL and Travis Walton Architecture were among the project category winners that attended to collect their IDEA trophy designed by Axolotl.

They were joined by Jeff Copolov, Dan Cox, Tina Engelen, Byron George, Yasmine Ghoniem, Nicholas Karlovasitis and Jeremy McLeod, who were all on the panel of industry-leading professionals that judged this year’s IDEA.

Sydney-based Adele McNab Architect was named the best emerging practice of the year.

Flack Studio took home this year’s Editors’ Medal from outgoing inside editors Jan Henderson and Gillian Serisier, while the winning hospitality category was awarded to Genesin Studio and Peculiar Familia’s Adelaide Ban Ban Bar & Chicken by the magazine’s incoming editor Elisa Scarton.

The overall winner was the Dangrove Art Storage Facility by Tzannes. The purpose built state of the art storage facility in NSW, which houses a private collection of contemporary Chinese art, was applauded for its sculptural beauty and low net energy use.

The overall project winners were selected from the existing pool of project category winners during this year’s master jury day in September.

Melbourne-based Kennedy Nolan was crowned designer of the year, while SJB’s interior design director Andrew Parr took home the Gold Medal.

Guests at The Timberyard enjoyed drinks provided by this year’s IDEA drinks sponsor Moo Brew, Archie Rose and Seville Estate as well as audio visual installations by NW Group.

Check out the best photos from the night:

[wds id=”6″]


IDEA 2019 winners

NGV Rigg Design Prize “We’ve boundless plains to share” – Flack Studio and Grazia & Co

Dust – Liminal Spaces and Dancenorth

Escher X nendo | Between Two Worlds – National Gallery of Victoria and nendo

Ban Ban – Genesin Studio and Peculiar Familia

Our Lady of the Assumption Catholic Primary School – BVN

Sibling Espresso – Travis Walton Architecture

Object Furniture and Lighting Professional
Ecoustic Sculpt – Instyle

Object Furniture and Lighting Rising
(OUYSE)/brass wall sconce_.. – Studio Ephebe

Public Space
Dangrove Art Storage Facility – Tzannes

Residential Decoration
Elmore – Flack Studio

Residential Multi
537 Elizabeth Street – Woods Bagot

Residential Single
GB house, Sydney – Renato D’Ettorre Architects

Mastani – DesignOffice

Our Lady of the Assumption Catholic Primary School – BVN

Workplace over 1000sqm
Arup Melbourne – HASSELL and Arup

Workplace under 1000sqm
Piazza Dell’Ufficio – Branch Studio Architects

Designer of the Year
Kennedy Nolan

Emerging Practice
Adele McNab Architect

Overall winner
Dangrove Art Storage Facility – Tzannes

Editors’ Medal
Flack Studio

Gold Medal
Andrew Parr

See all the images from the 2019 IDEA Gala party here.

Photography: Jayden Ostwald and Adam O’Sullivan


You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *