Type to search

IDEA 2020 entries now closed. Here’s what happens next!


IDEA 2020 entries now closed. Here’s what happens next!


Thanks to everyone who entered IDEA 2020! Here’s what happens next.

We know it’s been a difficult few months, but to all the practices and studios who entered IDEA 2020, we wanted to say thanks! Read on to find out the next steps for this year’s awards.

Entries have come in from all over the country and abroad with Aussie practices and studios entering their projects in Japan, New Zealand, Singapore and Hong Kong, just to name a few.


Longlisting, which is the first stage of the judging process, has now begun and will continue throughout June.

All submitted entries will be reviewed by ADR editorial team, who will select a longlist of entries for each category.


The shortlisting stage of the judging process will take place in July and will involve our star-studded panel of 7 judges who will select a shortlist of around 10 entries for each project category using an online scoring system.

The shortlist will be published in August, and we’ll be in touch to let you know if you’ve been shortlisted.

During this time, the judges will also select a shortlist of around six practices for the Designer of the Year award. They will be asked to put together a short video that will be presented on Jury Day.

Jury day

Our seven jury members will meet in Melbourne on 21 August to discuss the shortlisted projects and select a winner for each category.

They will also select the winners of the special awards – Emerging Designer of the Year, Sustainability and Overall Winner.

The judges will also watch the videos from the Designer of the Year finalists and select a winner.

IDEA gala

Winners will be announced in late November. This includes the winners of the Editor’s Medal and the Gold Medal award.

We will be monitoring the coronavirus situation in the coming months in the hopes that we will be able to hold our annual IDEA gala party to announce the winners and give everyone the chance to celebrate and network with other industry professionals.

However, if that’s not possible, we will find another way to honour this year’s winners. Stay tuned for more details.


You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *