Type to search

Four days left to enter IDEA 2021

Four days left to enter IDEA 2021


There are only four days left to get your entry in to IDEA 2021. To help you prepare your entry and submit it before midnight AEST on 25 June, we’ve put together answers to some key questions:

1. What is IDEA?

The Interior Design Excellence Awards (IDEA) is Australia’s oldest independent architecture and interior design awards program, providing a platform for the country’s top projects and celebrating the incredible architects and interior designers behind them.

Our focus is on the very best in Australian design judged by the very best in Australian design.

2. How do I enter?

To enter IDEA 2021, create an account or sign in here. You can then enter as many categories as you like by completing the entry form for each category entry. Read more on our how to enter page.

3. What are the categories?

This year we announced two new categories in addition to our annual list of 14 architecture, interior and furniture and lighting design categories. See the full list here.

The newest category for 2021 is the Community Services award, which recognises projects that are pro bono or completed at a significantly reduced fee.

Any project completed between January 2018 and July 2021 is eligible to be entered into this category.

We’ve also redesigned one of our Residential Single categories. Formerly Residential Single – Decoration, the newly announced Residential Single – Interior Curation category recognises the work performed by interior designers who had no input in the architecture of the home.

You can also enter your studio into our special awards, which recognise sustainability and emerging design studios.

4. Who are the judges?

Judging this year’s program are some of the country’s best architects and interior designers.

Your project will be judged by two IDEA 2020 alums – Designer of the Year David Flack and Gold Medallist Meryl Hare.

They’ll be joined by Chelsea Hing, Brahman Perera, Ryan Genesin, Domino Risch and Jean-Paul Ghougassian.

The panel will also feature our inaugural Sustainability judge – Breathe Architecture director and sustainability lead Bonnie Herring, who will be selecting the winner of the Sustainability Award.

5. What are the entry criteria?

While each category has specific criteria for entry with which you must comply, the Jury will be looking at the following three key criteria in determining the shortlist, highly commended and winners:

  1. The big idea behind the project
  2. Excellence in design outcomes
  3. How the project responded to the brief

Only projects deemed by the shortlisting judges to be of the highest calibre in meeting these criteria will be accepted.

Enter IDEA 2021 now

You can enter your projects until 25 June. There will be no extension to the deadline, so this is your very last chance to enter IDEA 2021!

Find out more on our how to enter page and drop us a line at idea@niche.com.au if you have any questions.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *