Type to search

“Australian designers are leaders in the global field” say IDEA 2020 jury

“Australian designers are leaders in the global field” say IDEA 2020 jury


In the coming weeks, our seven superstar judges will get together virtually to select the winners of IDEA 2020.

It’ll be a jury day like no other. Instead of meeting in person, our jury will be beaming in from their homes and offices throughout the country.

But the consistency and rigour of our judging process remains unchanged.

IDEA received almost 500 entries this year. Just over 300 projects were shortlisted by our editorial team.

Our seven judges then assessed every entry online, whittling them down to the top five entries per category, with winners emerging based on a scoring system.

On Jury Day, they will discuss, ratify and select the winners for all 14 categories, as well as the annual special awards – Designer of the Year, Emerging Designer of the Year, Sustainability and Overall Winner.

This year’s jury is made up of The Stella Collective’s Hana Hakim, Alexander & CO. director Jeremy Bull, SJB interior design director and IDEA 2019 Gold Medallist Andrew Parr, interior designers and directors of their own eponymous studios Simone Haag, Brendan Wong and Anna Spiro and LuchettiKrelle director Rachel Luchetti.

In preparation for Jury Day, we spoke to some of them about what they’ll be looking for in this year’s winners.

IDEA winners will be unveiled at a dazzling in-person gala when it is safe to do so. You can read more about our decision to postpone our awards ceremony here.

Each winner will receive a trophy made by Axolotl.

See the entire IDEA 2020 shortlist here.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *