Type to search

A look at the Vivid Design Awards finalists

A look at the Vivid Design Awards finalists


The finalists for the 2019 Vivid Design Awards have been announced, with the work of 53 designers in the running for an award. 

This year marks the 16th edition of the program, which shines a spotlight on Australia’s up-and-coming furniture, lighting and object designers from across the country.

The finalists will exhibit their design prototypes at the Vivid Awards Gallery, which takes place at Decor + Design in Melbourne on 18 July. From the functional to experimental, the designs demonstrate the diverse talent and unique personalities of Australia’s emerging designers.

Vivid curator and multi-disciplinary designer Daniel Dalla Riva from Latitude Group says, “2019 has produced the largest field of finalists since the inception of the program.

“The designs are highly considered, and are exemplars of exceptional materiality and craftsmanship”.

Take a look at the finalists below.

Award for object design

Candy by Jack Balfour
Colonnade by Manuel Canestrini
Mr. D by Joandita Centika
0001 CANDELABRA by Thomas Cohen
TOTEMS: C&Q and Candy N.2 by Marta Figueiredo
TOO D art by Sureen Gouws
Soft Spot Bowl by Jordan Leeflang
Democracy of shapes by Eva Novakova
Ombre by Isaac Pelchen
Mesa Heat by Wayan Preston, Jed Kelly, Indigo Tolhurst
Acoustic Landscape by Sarah Tracton
VaryVases by Fran White
Shard by Colin Whitehead
PALETTE by Thomas Yeend

Democracy of shapes by Eva Novakova

Democracy of shapes by Eva Novakova

Award for lighting design

Later Lite 01 by Adam Broadby
Luna Light by Orest Danylak
Loopdey by Tonielle Dempers
Torque Lamp by Tyran Hanlon
Too Tone Pendant by Chris Miller, Lisa Kajewski
Sharp Light by James Nolan
(OUYSE) / brass wall sconce by Pauline Tsolos

Luna Light by Orest Danylak

Luna Light by Orest Danylak

Award for furniture design

Fence Sitter by Sarah Brooke
Suspender Chair by Rachael Brown
Mr P by Joandita Centika
Steel Bench by Brandon Chow
[B]01-FLOW by Simeon Chua, Emma Kelly
The Dish by Bryan Cush
Loopdey Side Table by Tonielle Dempers
Grenache Wine System by Jaron Dickson
MM03 Chair by Marinos Drakopoulos
Clearer by Dustin Fritsche
Morphe Table by Jordan Gogos
Oceania by Simon Haeser
Big Round by Max Harper
Elk Dining Chair by Tom Hewitt
Kodo Hat & Coat Stand by Daniel Margules
Pedipalp Table by Bailey McFarlane
form.fibre.future by Rachel McGuigan, Kerri Hollingsworth, Zetta Kanta
Swept Stool by Alan Newnham
Torii Chair by Chris Nicholson
C.O Stool by Adrian Olasau
Bar-code Drinks Cabinet by Eamon Riley
Bernard by Phoebe Rogers
Australiana by David Tate
D Desk by Min Tian, Roy Zheng
Sid by Colin Whitehead
Helia by Dallas Winspear

Oceania by Simon Haeser

Oceania by Simon Haeser

Award for concept design

Cannon Vase by Manuel Canestrini
Freak. the Chair by Ivana Dancova
Espressflow by Eial Donnenfeld
Hold, Please by Calum Hurley
Re.Bean Coffee Stool by Kristen Wang

Espressflow by Eial Donnenfeld



You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *