Type to search

2017 Victorian landscape architecture awards winners announced


Celebrating the very best of Victoria’s green, open and public spaces, the Australian Institute of Landscape Architects’ (AILA) Victoria Landscape Architecture Awards 2017 have been announced.

The annual awards recognise the leadership and innovation that landscape architects bring to projects to enhance Victoria’s liveability, economic development and global profile.

AILA Victoria awards jury committee chair Adam Nitschke says, “Participants are to be commended for the impressive quality of projects, which, drawn together, highlight the breadth of influence that landscape architecture exerts across our built and natural environment. This collection of projects makes a significant contribution to the future health, liveability and resilience of our cities, suburbs and regional centres.”

The winners are as follows:

Parks and Open Space

Parks and Open Space Award of Excellence 

Winner: GLAS Landscape Architect | Wooten Road Reserve Interpretation Space


Wooten Road Reserve by GLAS Landscape Architect. Photo by Drew Echberg.

Play Spaces

Play Spaces Landscape Architecture Award

Winner: Playce | Valley Reserve SPARC


HASSELL | Rosebud Foreshore Playspace


Rosebud Foreshore Playspace by HASSELL. Photo by Stephan Tan.


Infrastructure Award of Excellence

Winner: OCULUS in collaboration with VicRoads and Paul Thompson | Remembrance Drive Interchange

Infrastructure Landscape Architecture Award

Winner: Urban Initiatives | Jock Marshall Nature Reserve Walk


Jock Marshall Nature Reserve Walk by Urban Initiatives. Photo by Vantage Drones.

Land Management

Land Management Award of Excellence

Winner: GbLA | Armstrong Creek Rejuvenation (with Waralily)

Urban Design

Urban Design Award of Excellence

Winner: Site Office | Hawthorn Arts Centre Civic Space


Hawthorn Arts Centre by Site Office. Photo by Lisbeth Grosmann.

Landscape Planning

Landscape Planning Landscape Architecture Award

Winner: City of Melbourne, City Design Studio | University Square Master Plan

Research, Policy and Communication

Research, Policy and Communication Award of Excellence

Winner: Joshua Zeunert | Landscape Architecture and Environmental Sustainability: Creating Positive Change Through Design

Community Contribution

Community Contribution Landscape Architecture Award

Winner: Tract Consultants | The Journey Interactive Map

Small Projects

Small Projects Landscape Architecture Award

Winner: Jeavons Landscape Architects | Marnebek Sensory Courtyard


Marnebek Sensory Courtyard by Jeavons Landscape Architects. Photo by Andrew Lloyd.


Gardens Award of Excellence

Winner: OCULUS | NGV Grollo Equiset Garden

Gardens Landscape Architecture Award

Winner: TCL | Towers Road Residence


Towers Road Residence by TCL. Photo by John Gollings.

Victoria Future Leader Awards

Future Leader Award Graduate

Winners: Georgia Chisolm


Nathan Collins

The projects awarded an Award of Excellence and a Landscape Architecture Award at the Victorian level will proceed through to the national awards, to take place this October in Sydney as part of the 2017 International Festival of Landscape Architecture.’

Lead image: Marnebek Sensory Courtyard by Jeavons Landscape Architects. Photo by Andrew Lloyd.

Check out last year’s Victorian Landscape Award winners.


You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *