Type to search

2023 Jury



Elvin Tan

Elvin Tan always pursues a hands-on approach to all projects. He believes in the power of design and in the inherent value it can create regardless of the size, type, and budget of a project. 

After obtaining a Master of Architecture at RMIT, he gained valuable experience at established practices, designing hotels and restaurants internationally and locally while his passion for interior design blossomed. 

jpeg-optimizer_Artboard 1 (1) (2)

Jade Nottage

Jade Nottage takes an artistic approach to design, influenced by her interest in art, her love of painting and her understanding of historical design periods. She draws inspiration from colour, and proportions and places high value on the narrative of each design brief.  Jade values human connection, ensuring that Tom Mark Henry’s work makes a lasting impression and positive cultural impact, while also building meaningful and long-lasting relationships with her colleagues at Tom Mark Henry.


Megan Norgate

Megan Norgate is the Founder and Design Director of the Architecture and Interior Design studio Brave New Eco in Melbourne, Naarm. Megan has a holistic design approach to creating design solutions by integrating the built, interior and ecological environments. She has developed a framework of design ethics and principles for her own practice; Brave New Eco seeks to resolve design problems with minimal, considered interventions using a resourceful and deeply responsive approach.

Danielle Brustman

Danielle Brustman

Danielle Brustman’s Melbourne based studio encompasses a broad spectrum of practice, from residential interiors and commercial design for the hospitality, education and retail sectors along with furniture and lighting design for exhibition and installation. Danielle works with a rich syntax of colour to conceive works that challenge our perception of private and public space. Her design work is narrative driven and informed by dynamic colour relationships, geometric form and fantastical spaces.

24th Feb, 2022. Idea 2021 Awards at Royal Randwick, Sydney. (Sam Mooy/Narrative Post)

Byron George

Byron George is the director of Russell & George. The practice takes a very considered nuanced approach that aims to challenge conventional notions of what design is and how it can make an impact on or celebrate the culture of a society. Byron’s own experience spans from the design of small objects to large-scale architecture, and he approaches every client and project with the same mix of curiosity, energy and a fundamental belief in the ability of good design to change a person’s day for the better.


Sue Fenton

Sue has been practicing Interior Design for over 20 years, working across all sectors of Woods Bagot’s Global studio. Sue creates engaging spaces that enhance our built environment, provide a sense of place and enrich user experience. Sue’s main focus is on design outcomes developed through a collaborative process, one that reveals potential and is driven by research.

Rachel Nolan Chairperson IDEA Awards 2023

Rachel Nolan

Rachel Nolan is the first Chairperson for IDEA 2023.  Nolan has a wealth of expertise in creating built environments that are inspiring and responsive to the brief, context and environment. She is currently the Chair of the University of Melbourne Architecture Advisory Board, a founding member of The Boyd Circle and has served the AIA as a lecturer, juror for the Victorian Chapter Awards and member of the AIA Honours Committee.