Type to search

Enter IDEA 2022 now and save $90

Enter IDEA 2022 now and save $90


Early bird entries for IDEA 2021 are now open. Enter before 1 May and save $90!

IDEA, now in its 20th year, is the benchmark for Australian design excellence and the ultimate accolade for architects and designers across the country.

Entries are open until 10 June with discounted entry fees available until 1 May. Enter now to save $90.

Why enter IDEA?

IDEA is organised by Australian Design Review and inside, is Australia’s oldest architecture and interior design competition, and is judged by a panel consisting of the country’s leading figures (more on this year’s panel soon).

An easy entry process

IDEA has a simple streamlined entry process.

We’ll ask you to submit a short project description of maximum 50 words, a long project description of maximum 200 words and a final 200 words on how the project responded to the client brief.

After that, you’ll have to upload 10 gallery images, along with a spec sheet, plans and drawings… and that’s it!

Get your work published on Australian Design Review and in inside magazine

Every shortlisted and winning entry will be mentioned or published on the IDEA website with the possibility of being featured in Australian Design Review.

They will be shared with our social media and newsletter audiences, and featured in dedicated issues of inside magazine.

Winners will also receive a trophy designed by Axolotl.

Enter IDEA 2022 now!

Create an account (or log into an existing account) and start working on your entry at https://idea.awardsplatform.com – you can save your entry and return to it later, as many times as you like!

Any project completed between 1 January 2021 and 30 July 2022 is eligible for this year’s awards as long as it hasn’t been entered in IDEA previously.

There are 15 categories open for entry this year, ranging from the best use of colour to best hospitality project, best single residential to best institutional, international and public space. There are also categories for object and furniture design.

IDEA 2021 Designer of the Year Yasmine Ghoniem (YSG) with David Flack (left) and Cult founder and managing director Richard Munao (right). Photo: Matthias Engesser/Narrative Post

As as well as choosing a winner for all these categories, the jury of seven industry experts will also be awarding five special awards. You can nominate yourself for two of these; for example, best Emerging Designer (for practices and studios under five years) and the Sustainability award.

The other three – Designer of the Year, Overall Project Winner and Gold Medal – are chosen from the submitted projects.

Keep an eye out for the first announcements about judges soon.

To stay updated with all IDEA 2022 news, sign up to the newsletter at www.idea-awards.com.au/sign-up-to-the-idea-newsletter.

If you have any questions, you can contact the awards team at idea@niche.com.au. Good luck!


You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *