Type to search

Shortlisted teams for Australia’s 2016 Venice Architecture Biennale exhibition

Shortlisted teams for Australia’s 2016 Venice Architecture Biennale exhibition


The Australian Institute of Architects (AIA) has released its shortlist of five creative teams for Australia’s exhibition at the prestigious 2016 Venice Architecture Biennale.

The chosen creative teams and directors will be the key intellectual drivers of the upcoming Australian exhibition, and will be selected from the following:

POST: Australian Architecture Abroad – John de Manincor, Sandra Kaji-O’Grady and Misho Baranovic

Here and There – Ed Lippmann, John Pleffer and Susan Freeman

The pool – Aileen Sage with Michelle Tabet

Parlour Live! – Justine Clark and Naomi Stead

Objects of Practice – Andrew Burns and Mark Gowing

This will be Australia’s sixth participation at the International Architecture Biennale in Venice. It is also the first architectural exhibition to be mounted at the new Australian Pavilion by Melbourne-based architecture firm Denton Corker Marshall.

The Australian Instutite of Architects’ Venice Biennale Committee will make its final selection on Tuesday 21 April, 2015.

Following which, the successful creative team will be required to adapt its concept to the overall international theme to be announced in late 2015. The distinguished selection panel comprises: Paul Berkemeier (chair, immediate past president of AIA), Janet Holmes à Court AC (commissioner), David Karotkin (national president of the AIA), Ross Clark (chief operating officer of the AIA), Rachel Neeson (Neeson Murcutt), Ken Maher (executive chairman, Hassell), Helen Lochhead (deputy government architect of NSW).

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *