Melbourne Design Awards

Dec 14, 2010
  • Article by Online Editor

The voting phase of the inaugural Melbourne Design Awards has opened, enabling design industry professionals and design enthusiasts to participate in the awards process by casting their votes.

Covering a broad range of design disciplines including architecture and interior design, advertising, graphic design, product design, fashion and animation, the awards are co-presented by the Design Institute of Australia (DIA) and A Thinking Company. The Melbourne program is the first in the series of the City Design Awards project.

Shortlisted architecture projects for the awards include McBride Charles Ryan’s [“Letterbox House”:https://www.australiandesignreview.com/design_wall/10796-Letterbox-House-McBride-Charles-Ryan], Elenberg Fraser’s 401 St Kilda Road and In Site’s [“Base Camp”:https://www.australiandesignreview.com/design_wall/18224-Architecture-Base-Camp] in the residential category; as well as BVN Architecture’s [“Goods Shed North”:https://www.australiandesignreview.com/design_wall/18098-Architecture-Goods-Shed-North-BVN-Architecture] and Cox Architects’ [“AAMI Park”:https://www.australiandesignreview.com/projects/20142-Melbourne-Rectangular-Stadium-COX-Architects-and-Planners] in the commercial category.

Interior fitouts shortlisted include Henry Francis Design’s MKT Office, Doherty Lynch’s Hawthorn Residence and David Hicks’ [“King Furniture”:https://www.australiandesignreview.com/design_wall/18655-Interior-Design-King-Furniture]. Yellow Diva’s [“WB Series”:https://www.australiandesignreview.com/product/furniture/14714-WB-stool-series] of stools commissioned by Zenith Interiors and Jason Bird’s Fractal Cloud lighting design for Luxxbox feature in the product design categories.

Votes can be cast on the Melbourne Design Awards website, with individuals only permitted to vote for each individual design once. Votes from the public will be counted alongside votes cast by members of professional design organisations, whose votes will have a stronger weighting.

Voting is open until 13 February 2011. Winners will be announced at the awards night on 17 February 2011.


Conversation • 0 comments

Add to this conversation



Your email address will not be published.