Type to search

Entries now open for Real Flame Awards


Above image: Michael Bialek from SJB Architects

The Real Flame Architectural Design Awards (ADA) program was created to foster innovation within the Australian design industry and in particular, the gas fireplace market. There are two categories within the Awards, one professional for architects and designers and the other for students. Cash prizes will be awarded with first prize in both categories receiving $5000. Second and third placements will also receive a cash reward.

Michael Bialek from SJB Architects and Kendra Pinkus from Bates Smart together comprise the judging panel and the entries will be assessed for design excellence that incorporates sound research, unique application of products and innovation. Candidates are invited to submit designs for decorative and/or heating fireplaces for residential or commercial application along with concept sketches, working and rendered drawings.

Registration for entries closes on 31 July 2014 and the winners will be announced on the 15 September 2014.

Michael Bialek is a founding director of SJB. With an industry experience of more than 35 years, he is one of the highly acclaimed architects in Australia. He has also been actively involved in the design community and has served as a jury member for numerous awards. Michael currently sits on the Large Practice Forum of the Australian Institute of Architects and is a member of the Property Council of Australia.

Kendra Pinkus is the Associate Director Interior Design at Bates Smart, Australia.



You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *