Open House Melbourne weekend – 26 and 27 July (10am to 4pm)
With Melbourne Open House approaching it is hard to decide which building to set your sights on first. One of the more intriguing opportunities among the great many, is a look inside the Australian Tapestry Workshop.
Built in 1885 to architect T.J Crouch’s specification the building was redesigned by Peter Carmichael in 1976 and subsequently by Peter Williams in 1999. A rarity as the only workshop of its kind in the country, its production of hand-woven, contemporary tapestries also makes it a rarity on a global scale.
Using fine Australian wool, specially dyed on site to provide a unique palette of 370 colours, the weavers create works of monumental scale, with most commissioned for site-specific installation in significant public buildings and collections.
Located within a National Trust and Heritage listed building that was initially a drapery establishment, Harcourt and Parry Emporium, the building was later adapted for use as Patross Knitting Mills. Peter Carmichael’s 1976 architecture transformed the space to a light-filled studio and the perfect home for the Workshop.
Visitors will have the opportunity to explore the Workshop, including the galleries, studio floor and viewing balcony with a view to the Australian Tapestry Workshop Colour Laboratory. Hourly guided tours will focus on the architecture, history and modern use of the building.
Address: 262–266 Park Street, South Melbourne
Opening Hours: 10am to 4pm Saturday and Sunday
What’s Open Short: Workshop galleries, studio floor and viewing balcony
Tours Information: Tours will run hourly with 20 people per tour, self guided tours also available
Kids: A children’s weaving activity will be offered. This is a hands-on activity where children will get to try their hand at weaving and take home their work. Suitable for years 3+.
Tram Stops: Stop 129: Park and Clarendon Streets on route 112; and Stop 24: Park and Clarendon Streets on route 1