Type to search

Parramatta international design competition launched

Parramatta international design competition launched


Create NSW and the Museum of Applied Arts and Sciences (MAAS) have launched an international design competition to find designs for a Powerhouse Precinct at Parramatta, with Naomi Milgrom AO,  architects Wendy Lewin and David Gianotten and MAAS chief executive Lisa Havilah on the jury. 

Launched on 24 January by Minister for the Arts Don Harwin, architects from across the globe are sought to submit expressions of interest for a Precinct encompassing a new museum, public space and pedestrian bridge.

Craig Limkin, executive director for Create Infrastructure and specialist advisor to the Jury, encourages both Australian and International architects to enter the competition.

“This is an incredible chance to design a purpose-built venue and community gathering space that will further improve the liveability of the Central River City and enable all families to access the museum’s collection.

Milgrom, who will act as jury chair, says: “the new Powerhouse Precinct at Parramatta is one of the most exciting cultural projects in the country, so I’m honoured to be involved, with many others, in helping to bring this project to reality.

“The museum will play an important role in renewing the places and neighbourhoods where it will be a focus, but more importantly, it will be a catalyst for imagination, connection and creativity in the community of which it will be a part.

“Our aim is to identify a design that will reflect this ambition – a design that is not just about a new built form but is about the people whom we hope will be inspired by all that will happen at the museum,” she said.

Designs produced by shortlisted teams will be on public display later this year. Stage One Expressions of Interest are now open and close at 22:00 AEDT Monday 18 March
2019. For more information, guidelines and applications, visit the competition website.


You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *