Type to search

Celebration of old and new at ACT Architecture Awards


Above image: The National Arboretum, Canberra
Image courtesy of Brett Boardman

Winners of the 2014 ACT Architecture Awards were announced on Saturday, June 14 at the recently refurbished REX Hotel in Canberra. In addition, the winners of the Australian Institute of Architects’ Light Rail Station Ideas Competition were announced by Minister for Environment and Sustainable Development, Simon Corbell MLA.

For the second year in a row, Tonkin Zulaikha Greer’s (TZG) National Arboretum has been honoured at the ACT Awards. Following on from the 2013 Romaldo Giurgola Award for Public Architecture for the Village Centre, TZG, along with Taylor Cullity Lethlean, have won the this year’s Sir John Overall Award for Urban Design and the chapter’s highest accolade, the Canberra Medallion.

Apostolic Nunciature 1976–1977 by former gold medallist Enrico Taglietti received the Award for Enduring Architecture. Built to accommodate diplomatic representatives of the ‘Holy See’, the Apostolic Nunciature received several RAIA (ACT) merit awards soon after its completion and Taglietti was awarded a Papal Knighthood of St Gregory the Great in recognition of his design.

Other notable winners on the night included Australian National University Australian Centre on China in the World by Munns Sly Moore in association with Mo Atelier Szeto, which won the Romaldo Giurgola Award for Public Architecture, Art in Architecture Prize and an INLITE Light in Architecture Prize – Commendation. Hotel Hotel by March Studio also received multiple recognitions with the W Hayward Morris Award for Interior Architecture and an Art in Architecture Prize.

The top residential prize, the Malcolm Moir and Heather Sutherland Award for Residential Architecture – Houses (New), was presented to Rodney Moss in association with Ken Murtagh and Pip Smith for The Mook.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *