WA Architecture Awards winners revealed

Jul 11, 2012
  • Article by Online Editor
  • Designer

Above: Hilton Community Centre by Bernard Seeber Architects.
Photo: Marion Treasure.

Bernard Seeber Architects were awarded the top prize, the George Temple Poole Award, for their Hilton Community Centre project at the Australian Institute of Architects WA Chapter 2012 Architecture Awards that took place at the Burswood Grand Ballroom in Perth on Friday.

The jury praised the architects for having “artfully crafted and executed a contemporary layer of organisation and design upon a set of tired facilities, restoring them where appropriate and carefully inserting new elements”.

The George Temple Poole Award, presented each year, is given to the project deemed most worthy of all the award winners in each category (excluding the Colorbond Award and the Mondoluce Architectural Lighting Award). The Hilton Community Centre also received the John Septimus Roe Award for Urban Design.

Augusta Margaret River Shire Civic and Administration Centre, by Bollig Design Group. Photo: Michael Conroy.


The Jeffrey Howlett Award for Public Architecture was awarded to Bollig Design Group for the Augusta Margaret River Shire Civic and Administration Centre, impressing the jury with their “handling of a complex brief with an elegantly simple planning resolution”.

In the residential categories, Blane Brackenridge Architect took out the Marshall Clifton Award for Residential Architecture for the House in Cottesloe project, while Chindarsi Architects received the Peter Overman Award for Residential Architecture – Alterations and Additions for their Kinder Shophouse. Officer Woods Architects’ 58 Stevens Street project took out both the Harold Krantz Award for Multiple Residential and the Walter Greenham Sustainable Architecture Award. The jury said that the four-dwelling development is “an outstanding example of how a significant increase in density can be achieved on a relatively tight sub-urban site without compromise on architectural and environmental considerations.”

58 Stevens Street by Officer Woods Architects. Photo: Robert Frith.


Donaldson + Warn Architects’ Marsala House, originally built in 1976, received the Margaret Pitt Morison Award for Heritage for restoring and upgrading the house in the spirit of the original design intent.

Coniglio Ainsworth’s Cultural Centre Amenities won the Iwan Iwanoff Award for Small Project Architecture, while the mixed-use project VENN by Matthews Architecture received the Julius Elischer Award for Interior Architecture.

Twelve-storey office and retail building 167 Westralia Plaza received the Ross Chisholm Award for Commercial Architecture, with the jury praising JCY Architects and Urban Designers for the well-resolved site, adding that “its soft forms reach out to St Georges Terrace, inviting the visitor/pedestrian to engage with its entry foyer and acting as a ‘portal’ to City Square development and the Convention Centre beyond”. The practice also took out the Colorbond Award for Steel Architecture for the Trades North at Clarkson Project.

167 Westralia Plaza by JCY Architects and Urban Designers. Photo: Damien Hatton.


The Mondoluce Lighting Award was given as a dual award this year, firstly to Coniglio Ainsworth’s Cultural Centre Amenities, and secondly to the Westbury Residential Additions by David Barr Architect in collaboration with Brett Mitchell.

“In both these projects the lighting philosophy was a primary generator of the design concept where the natural and artificial lighting strongly interacts with the form to define and augment the architectural space,” the jury noted.

All Named and Architecture Award winners announced on Friday now progress to the Australian Institute of Architects National Awards, which will be held in Perth on 1st November.

Conversation • 0 comments

Add to this conversation



Your email address will not be published.