Victoria’s Premier’s Design Awards: finalists announced

May 11, 2010
  • Article by Online Editor

The ten finalists for Victoria’s 2010 Premier’s Design Awards have been announced, recognising innovative and successful design practice across the state.

Finalists include architecture firms Wood Marsh, McBride Charles Ryan, Lyons, Ashton Raggatt McDougall, and Gray Puksand with BVN Architecture, as well as designers Studio Round and Cobalt Niche.

Minister for Innovation, Gavin Jennings, congratulated the finalists, saying the program rewarded, “key innovators in a sector that is a building block of innovation, critical to competitive industries and vital to making Victoria the best place to live, work and raise a family”.

The Premier’s Design Awards are structured to reward the commissioning organisation and the primary designer(s) who developed and delivered the initiative. Shelley Penn, Principal of Shelley Penn Architect FRAIA, is chair of the judging panel.

A maximum of five Premier’s Design Awards will be rewarded, each receiving a Premier’s Design Mark and a Premier’s Design Trophy. Winners will be announced at a ceremony on 21 July 2010, during Victoria’s State of Design Festival.

*2010 Premier’s Design Awards Finalists*

Organisation: ConnectEast
Designer: Wood Marsh Architecture
Support Designer: John Holland

*Fitzroy High School*
Organisation: Fitzroy High School
Designer: McBride Charles Ryan

*Golden Age of Couture*
Organisation: Bendigo Art Gallery
Designer: Studio Round

*Keep Cup*
Organisation: KeepCup
Designer: Cobalt Niche
Support Designer: Southsouthwest

*Lyon Housemuseum*
Organisation: The Lyon Housemuseum (Lyon family)
Designer: Lyons

*Melbourne Recital Centre and the MTC Theatre*
Organisation: Major Projects Victoria
Designer: ARM (Ashton Raggatt McDougall)

*Python Underground Processing Plant*
Organisation: Gekko Systems
Designer: Gekko Systems (Ballarat)

*Stephanie Alexander Kitchen Garden Program*
Organisation: Stephanie Alexander Kitchen Garden Foundation
Designer: Stephanie Alexander Kitchen Garden Foundation

*The Bendigo Centre*
Organisation: Bendigo and Adelaide Bank Limited
Designer: Gray Puksand + BVN Architecture

*Whizkid Games*
Organisation: The National eTherapy Centre
Designer: Swinburne University of Technology Faculty of Design

Conversation • 0 comments

Add to this conversation


13 May 10 at 4:07 AM • mark_melb

Shame the seating setup at the Melbourne Recital Centre and the MTC Theatre is so freaking uncomfortable.


Your email address will not be published.