NSW Architecture Awards winners announced

Jun 29, 2012
  • Article by Online Editor
  • Designer

The Mabel Fidler building – the latest addition to the Ravenswood School for Girls – was awarded the Sir John Sulman Medal for Public Architecture at the 2012 NSW Architecture Awards last night.

Honoured for its advances in the relationship between education environments and contemporary learning, the jury – chaired by Bates Smart’s Philip Vivian – praised the project for “its elegant planning, the sheer delight of the library space, and strong sculptural presence.”

“The Mabel Fidler building expresses the aspirations of a community and is a fine model for a school of the future,” the jury noted.

Awarded the prestigious Sir Arthur G. Stephenson Award for Commercial Architecture was architectus + ingenhoven architects, for the 1 Bligh Street, Sydney project.  The same project also received the Milo Dunphy Award for Sustainable Design, with the jury noting that its “attention to detail and architectural integration of sustainable features has provided Sydney with a world-class commercial building that is setting new standards in sustainable architecture for high-rise buildings”.

Iconic Sydney landmark Australia Square by Harry Seidler & Associates took out the Award for Enduring Architecture for continuing to be one of Sydney’s most loved and highly used public spaces.

The John Kaldor Family Gallery at the Art Gallery of New South Wales received the John Verge Award for Interior Architecture, while Design 5 – Architects’ Exeter Farm was presented the Greenway Award for Heritage.

The jury were also impressed with the “luminous spectacle” of Fergus Scott Architects’ and Peter Stuchbury Architects’ Cliff Face House, presenting them with the Wilkinson Award for Residential Architecture. Also triumphant in the residential categories were Chenchow Little Architects’ Bell Romero Houses, receiving the Aaron Bolot Award for Residential Architecture, Multiple Housing. The jury praised the project for its “compelling argument for the successful integration of contemporary architecture within a conservation area”.

Small Project Architecture Awards were presented to Tribe Studio’s House Kalafatas Challita, Lacoste + Stevenson Architects’ Red Lantern and Bureau SRH Architecture’s Little Napier House.

The Premier’s Prize, chosen by the public through an online poll in the Sydney Morning Herald went to Fisher Design and Architecture for their Gildany Miirlarl Education Space in Coffs Harbour, in association with Mackenzie Pronk Architects.

Milson Island Indoor Sports Stadium by Allen Jack+Cottier Architects on the Hawkesbury River received the Colorbond Award for Steel Architecture, while the Blacket Prize for Regional Architecture went to new practice Silvester Fuller for the Dapto Anglican Church Auditorium near Wollongong. Penny Fuller of the same practice also won this year’s Emerging Architect Prize.

Other prize recipients included Professor James Weirick (President’s Prize), Julie Cracknell of Cracknell & Lonergan Architects (Marion Mahony Griffin Prize) and David Neustein of Architectural Review: Asia Pacific (Adrian Ashton Prize for Architectural Journalism).

173 entries were submitted to the program, and winners of the Named Awards and Architecture Awards will now progress to the National Architecture Awards to be held in Perth on Friday 1 November.

Conversation • 0 comments

Add to this conversation



Your email address will not be published.