Kerry and Lindsay Clare win AIA Gold Medal

Mar 18, 2010
  • Article by Online Editor
  • Designer

Architectus Directors Kerry and Lindsay Clare have been presented with the Australian Institute of Architects (AIA) 2010 Gold Medal for Architecture.

Making the announcement at the inaugural Australian Achievement in Architecture Awards (AAAA) ceremony in Brisbane on Thursday 18 March, AIA National President Melinda Dodson praised the duo’s enormous contribution to architecture, and their “strongly held belief that good design and sustainable design were intrinsically linked”.

Kerry and Lindsay Clare are the first husband and wife team to win the accolade – Australia’s top architecture prize – while Kerry is only the second female to receive the honour in the Gold Medal’s 50-year history.

The couple have been in practice together for over 30 years, and have completed a diverse range of outstanding buildings in Queensland and New South Wales. As Directors of Architectus, they designed the multi award-winning Gallery of Modern Art (GoMA) in Brisbane’s cultural precinct. They are also recognised for their sub-tropical, low impact sustainable residential projects that reinforce the essential connection with place.

The Goetz House and Thrupp and Summers House received particular attention in the mid-1980s for their modest scale, elegant design and environmentally sustainable principles.

The jury noted the duo’s key contribution to the profession, saying: “Their great body of work has demonstrated an appropriate environmental response, developing the concepts of efficient low energy sustainable solutions decades before legislation made it mandatory.”

First awarded in 1960, the Gold Medal recognises distinguished service by architects who have designed or executed buildings of high merit, or who have produced works of distinction resulting in the advancement of architecture. Previous winners include Richard Johnson, Kerry Hill, Glenn Murcutt, Jørn Utzon, Gregory Burgess, Keith Cottier, Brit Adresen and Peter Corrigan.

The Clares will now tour Australia over the coming six months to discuss their key projects and issues facing the profession.

Other award winners on the night included Tony Arnel, founder of the Green Building Council of Australia and current global chair of the World Green Building Council, who received the Leadership in Sustainability Prize. Mr Arnel received the award in recognition of two decades of work in policy development and regulation, resulting in a dramatic improvement in the standards of sustainable building practice.

The Neville Quarry Architectural Education Prize was awarded to Professor Gordon Holden, from Griffith University. A commendation was presented to Associate Professor Samer Akkach of the University of Adelaide.

The Dulux Study Tour – which enables five young architects to visit recent projects in Britain, France and Spain – was awarded to Mark Berlangieri, Thomas Ferguson, Josephine Hurley, Michael McPherson and David Sutherland.

In the student awards, Fiona Lew from Melbourne University was awarded the BlueScope Steel Glenn Murcutt Student Prize; Alysia Bennett from the University of Tasmania won the Student Prize for the Advancement of Architecture; and Keith Westbrook from the University of Tasmania received the Colorbond Steel Student Biennale Prize.

Conversation • 0 comments

Add to this conversation



Your email address will not be published.