Japan National Stadium competition shortlist announced

Nov 2, 2012
  • Article by Online Editor
  • Designer

Above: Cox Architecture’s proposed design.

Eleven entries, including one by Cox Architecture representing Australia, have been selected for the final round of the New National Stadium International Design Competition in Japan, run by the Japan Sport Council.

Zaha Hadid’s proposal for Japan’s new National Stadium.


Picked from 46 entries, the winning design will form Japan’s new National Stadium, featuring world class events in front of one of the world’s largest spectator capacities.

The finalists are:

Cox Architecture Pty Ltd; Alastair Ray Richardson (AUS)
Populous; Rod Sheard (GBR)
UNStudio/Yamashita Sekkei Inc; UNStudio VAN BERKEL EN BOS U.N. STUDIO B.V. (NED)
Zaha Hadid Architects; Zaha Hadid (GBR)
TABANLIOGLU Architects Consultancy Limited Company; Ihsan Murat Tabanlioglu (TUR)
Azusa Sekkei Co., Ltd; Fumihiko Sugitani (JPN)
Toyo Ito & Associates, Architects; Toyo Ito (JPN)
SANAA + Nikken Sekkei Ltd; Kazuyo Sejima (JPN)
gmp International GmbH; Hubert Nienhoff (GER)
Mitsuru Man Senda and Environment Design Institute; Junko Senda (JPN)

DORELL.GHOTMEH.TANE / ARCHITECTS & A+ARCHITECTURE’s proposal for Japan’s new National Stadium.


Scheduled for completion in 2018, the stadium will built in the hopes that Japan is selected to host the 2020 Olympic Games. Already slated to host the 2019 Rugby World Cup, the stadium will also be offered as a venue for the FIFA World Cup, the IAAF World Championships in Athletics, concerts and a wide range of other cultural and artistic events.

Mitsuru Man Senda and Environment Design Institute’s proposal for Japan’s new National Stadium.


Highly respected Japanese architect and jury chair Tadao Ando says: “The jury committee considered the proposals from a variety of aspects and selected eleven projects that present visions for overcoming these challenges and carry messages that announce the coming of a new age.”

The judging committee also includes: Hiroyuki Suzuki, Takayuki Kishii, Hiroshi Naito, Makoto Yasuoka, Junji Ogura, Shunichi Tokura, Norman Foster, Richard Rogers and Ichiro Kono.

Conversation • 0 comments

Add to this conversation



Your email address will not be published.