Bisley Place named House of the Year

Jul 30, 2013
  • Article by Online Editor
  • Designer

James Russell Architect’s Bisley Place House in Queensland has taken out the third annual Australian House of the Year. It is described as being a robust and innovative courtyard home that celebrates the very ordinariness of its surrounds.

“This design succeeds in creating opportunity where none seemingly existed. It does not repudiate the ‘Australian ugliness’ context, but relies on the quintessential ordinariness of the streetscape to enrich the experience. It rethinks the possibilities that architecture offers Australian suburbia,” the jury said of the win. The project was also the winner in the New House over 200sqm category.

Bisley Place House by James Russell Architect. Photo by Toby Scott


Presented by Houses magazine, the Houses Awards recognise outstanding residential design, both new houses and renovations, across eight categories with the winners being announced at a special presentation at the Australian Centre for the Moving Image (ACMI) at Federation Square on Thursday 25 July.

The winner of the Apartment, Unit or Townhouse category embraces compact urban living. Existing structural elements of a 1982 wool store have been retained in The Pyrmont Apartment by Bokor Architecture + Interiors to deliver a light-filled and flexible home.

Lilyfield Warehouse, Virginia Kerridge Architect. Photo by Michael Nicholson


Other standouts from the night included The Lilyfield Warehouse by Virginia Kerridge Architect, which received awards in both the House Alteration and Addition over 200sqm and Outdoor categories. The jury praised its use of outdoor spaces to create an urban oasis in a suburban context.

Merricks Beach House by Kennedy Nolan. Photo by Derek Swalwell


Other projects awarded on the night include Kennedy Nolan Architects’ Merricks Beach House in Victoria, which was the joint winner of the New House under 200sqm category – an award shared with Atelier Chen-Hung’s Keperra House in Queensland.

Atelier Chen Hung (A-CH), Keperra House. Photo by Alicia Taylor


Drew Heath Architects’ Tir na nóg – an ‘otherworldly’ residence that blurs indoor and outdoor space – was the recipient of the House Alteration and Addition under 200sqm award. Zoe Geyer Architect’s East Melbourne House was honoured with the Heritage award, while Sue Harper Architects was the winner in the Sustainability category.

This year’s Houses Awards were judged by a panel including Alice Hampson, Debbie Ryan, Jon Clements, Peter Stutchbury and Katelin Butler.

Conversation • 0 comments

Add to this conversation



Your email address will not be published.