Institute announces NSW Architecture Award winners

Jun 21, 2010
  • Article by Online Editor

The Australian Institute of Architects (AIA) has announced the winners of the 2010 NSW Architecture Awards, with a number of high profile projects taking home the top honours.

The state’s top architecture prize, the Sulman Award, was presented to HASSELL’s *Epping to Chatswood Rail Link, Intermediate Stations*. The jury commended the design of the four stations, which sets a “new benchmark for transport design in Australia”.

The jury said: “They are an elegant and innovative integration of engineering and architecture, where technical challenges and complexities have inspired rather than constrained the outcome. While the station planning is highly rational and easy for all users to understand, the spatial experience is rich and exciting.”

Francis-Jones Morehen Thorp (FJMT) was awarded three prizes for the *[“Surry Hills Library and Community Centre”:]*. The project was recognised with a public architecture award, the Milo Dunphy Award for Sustainable Architecture and the John Venge Award for Interior Architecture.

Describing the building as a “confident and considered piece of civic architecture,” the jury was impressed with its modest footprint, commitment to sustainability and the community focus of the project.

The *[“Paddington Reservoir Gardens”:]* by Tonkin Zulaikha Greer with JMD Design and the City of Sydney received the Greenway Award for Heritage, as well as the Lloyd Rees Award for Urban Design. The jury commended the outstanding urban design qualities of the site, saying: “The new park enables the appreciation of the site’s history and, through sensitive and sophisticated design, provides an exceptional enhancement of the public domain.”

TZG were also awarded the Blacket Prize for regional architecture, and a commendation for public architecture, for the *Glasshouse: Arts, Conference and Entertainment Centre*, situated in Port Macquarie.

Other winners on the night included Durbach Block Architects, who won the Sir Arthur G Stephenson Award for Commercial Architecture for *5-9 Roslyn Street Kings Cross*.

In residential projects, the Wilkinson Award was presented to Tzannes Associates for the *Bilgola Residence*, while the Aaron Bolot Award for multiple housing was presented to BVN Architecture for *20-24 Alfred Street Apartments*.

Harry Seidler & Associates’ *Offices, Milson Point* was awarded the 25 Year Award for enduring architecture, while the Premier’s Prize was shared by *Maitland Regional Art Gallery*, a project by Paul Berkemeier Architect with Barry McGregor and Associates, and *Junee Library*, a project by Workshop 1 Dunn + Hillam Architects.

Brewster Hjorth Architects won the Colorbond Steel Award for the *Charles Sturt University School of Dentistry in Wagga Wagga*.

The Marion Mahony Griffin Prize for female architects was presented to architect *Jan McCredie* in recognition of a “lifetime commitment to urban design in government as a developer of frameworks, guidelines and standards, as a passionate educator, as a private practitioner and promoter of good urban design through her active involvement with the Australian Institute of Architects and the Planning Institute of Australia.”

The Adrian Ashton Prize for architectural writing was awarded to *David Malouf*, and the 2010 President’s Prize was presented to *Sydney Lord Mayor Clover Moore*, “someone whose unwavering support for architecture is based on her interest in social justice and the environment.”

Thirty-two projects were recognised with awards and commendations, with winners selected from over 200 architectural projects entered into this year’s awards. All winners are now in contention for the AIA 2010 National Architecture Awards, to be announced in late October.

Conversation • 1 comments

Add to this conversation


22 Jun 10 at 12:24 AM • Anonymous

Is there a picture of the Aaron Bolot Award housing?


Your email address will not be published.