Evolve Awards winners announced

Dec 1, 2010
  • Article by Online Editor

The winners of the inaugural Evolve Awards have been revealed, with futurespace’s Gavin Harris and Group GSA’s Lachlan Allen jointly awarded the top prize at the awards announcement in Sydney on 30 November.

Held by Designer Rugs, the competition asked entrants to create an original, innovative and commercially viable design for Designer Rugs’ hand-made ID Collection. Gavin Harris’ ‘Squiggle it’ and Lachlan Allen’s ‘Dusk’ were announced as the winning entries. Both designers will receive a prize comprising return flights and accommodation to Milan to coincide with the Milan Furniture Fair, their finished rug and a trophy by Dinosaur Designs.

The remaining four shortlisted designs from Emma Elizabeth of Emma Elizabeth Designs, Louise McGregor of Louise McGregor Design, Edward Wong of Edward Wong Designs and Sarah Marriott of Hare + Klein will all join the Designer Rugs ID Collection, with a limited edition of 30 for each design.

Four further designs, created by judges Matthew Sheargold, Sibella Court, Stephen Ormandy and Shareen Joel, were revealed on the night and will complete the ID Collection.

Over 1,500 industry professionals and members of the general public voted for their favourite design in the People’s Choice Award, with the prize awarded to Jessica Graham from Base Architecture for her design ‘Tail Feather’.

View the complete ID Collection online at [“”:]

The Evolve Awards will continue to be held annually.

Conversation • 0 comments

Add to this conversation



Your email address will not be published.