Chipperfield wins 2011 Mies van der Rohe prize

Apr 12, 2011
  • Article by Online Editor

The Neues Museum in Berlin, a project by British architect David Chipperfield, has been announced as the winner of the 2011 Mies van der Rohe prize.

Chipperfield, who also received the 2011 RIBA Gold Medal, was selected above other shortlisted practices Zaha Hadid, Jean Nouvel, MDMA, Bernard Tschumi and Koen van Velsen for the prize, awarded every two years by the European Union in recognition of outstanding contemporary architecture.

Jury chair Mohsen Mostafavi said of Chipperfield’s project: “The rebuilding of the Neues Museum is an extraordinary achievement. Rarely have an architect and client succeeded in undertaking a work of such historic importance and complexity; especially one that involves both preservation and new building. The project raises and addresses many aesthetic, ethical, and technical issues. It is an exemplary demonstration of what collaboration can achieve in the context of contemporary European architectural practice.”

Chipperfield’s restoration project of the mid-nineteenth century museum in East Berlin that had been badly damaged during the Second World War first began in 2003. Working together with British architect Julian Harrap, Chipperfield brought old and new elements together within the building. When the project was completed in 2009, Chipperfield said: “The restoration and repair of the existing is driven by the idea that the original structure should be emphasized in its spatial context and original materiality – the new reflects the lost without imitating it.”

The award, first presented in 1988, is organised by the Fundacio Mies van der Rohe and has been the official architecture prize of the EU since 2000. The award will be presented on 20 June at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona.

Conversation • 0 comments

Add to this conversation



Your email address will not be published.