Belle Coco Republic Interior Design Awards 2012

May 18, 2012
  • Article by Online Editor
  • Designer

The winners of the Belle Coco Republic 2012 Interior Design Awards were revealed at a ceremony in Sydney on Wednesday 16 May.

Presented by Belle magazine and furniture brand Coco Republic and now in their second year, the awards celebrate excellence in the Australian interior design industry across five categories covering residential, commercial, corporate and hospitality fitouts.

Iain Halliday from Sydney practice Burley Katon Halliday (BKH) was presented with the top honour, receiving the accolade for Interior Designer of the Year. Halliday was selected as the recipient of the award over other finalists Ryan Russell and Byron George of Russell & George and David Hicks of David Hicks Design.

Russell & George, Aesop Claremont. Photo by Stephen Nicholls


Despite missing out on the top honour, Russell & George were double winners, receiving the Best Commercial Interior award for the Aesop Claremont fitout in Western Australia as well as the Best Corporate Interior award for Paper Stone Scissors in Windsor, Melbourne. Doherty Lynch’s Paul and Joe Sydney was a finalist for the commercial award alongside BKH’s SFXN Coop Manly Corso, while in the corporate category, SJB Interiors and Smart Design Studio were finalists for their respective projects, Medich Office and Saatchi & Saatchi.

Russell & George, Paper Stone Scissors. Photo by Dianna Snape


Smart Design Studio’s Tusculum Street Residence was awarded the Best Residential Interior, winning out over David Hicks’ Toorak Residence and BKH’s Whale Beach House. George Livissianis won Best Hospitality Interior for The Apollo in Sydney, beating competition from Hecker Guthrie’s The Old Library and Scarlett by SJB Interiors.

Smart Design Studio, Tusculum St. Photo by Sharrin Rees


Entries were judged by a panel including London-based Kelly Hoppen MBE, Domenic Alvaro (principal, Woods Bagot Australia), Margie Attard (NSW/ WA manager, Coco Republic Interior Design), Steve Cordony (interior design editor, Belle), Mitchell Oakley Smith (author and publisher), Anthony Spon-Smith (executive director, Coco Republic), Neale Whitaker (editor-in-chief, Belle) and Jean Wright (senior design consultant, Belle).

The Apollo, George Livissianis


Conversation • 0 comments

Add to this conversation



Your email address will not be published.