Australian International Design Awards: call for entries

Sep 16, 2009
  • Article by Online Editor

Standards Australia has launched the 2010 Australian International Design Awards program, which recognises excellence in product design.

The awards are open to manufacturers and designers of professionally designed products available for sale in Australia or products professionally designed by Australians for overseas markets.

Entries are now being accepted across nine categories: Consumer, Business and Technology, Medical and Scientific, Automotive and Transport, Sport and Leisure, Housing and Building, Heavy Machinery, Architectural and Interior Products, and Student.

The prestigious awards program has been running since 1958, with previous winners including the Qantas Economy Seat (2009), Flaik snowsports performance tracker (2008) and the Ford Territory (2004).

Products are assessed according to a range of criteria, including innovation, visual and emotional appeal, functionality, quality and manufacture, human factors and environmental sustainability.

The awards are recognised by the Commonwealth Government and the International Council of Societies of Industrial Design as Australia’s peak design assessment and promotion body, and for its important role in fostering a culture of design and innovation in Australia.

Entries close 1 December 2009.
Enter online at [“www.designawards.com.au”:http://www.designawards.com.au/]

*Image*: Qantas Economy Seat, Australian International Design Award of the Year 2009.

Conversation • 0 comments

Add to this conversation



Your email address will not be published.