Australian firms in the running for WAF People’s Choice Award

Oct 17, 2011
  • Article by Online Editor
  • Designer

The World Architecture Festival has this year introduced a new award to the festival. The People’s Choice Award, supported by OpenBuildings.com, is the first major award at the festival that will see winners selected by the public rather than the WAF jury.

All projects shortlisted in any category for this year’s World Architecture Festival Awards are eligible for the People’s Choice Award, with 60 Australian projects included among a shortlist of 281 projects from 59 different countries.

The public are able to submit a 1 point vote through the website, and can register a 5 point vote by visiting their chosen project in person and checking in to the building using the OpenBuildings iPhone/Android app. The projects in the top three spots when voting closes will then be in the running to win the award, announced at the World Architecture Festival in November.

Presently, the highest ranking Australian project in the People’s Choice Award is Circa Architecture’s Saffire Resort in Coles Bay, Tasmania – which sits in 34th position. HBO+EMTB’s Lilyfield Housing Redevelopment and Ian Moore Architects’ Strelein Warehouse are ranked second and third among Australian entries, currently holding the 60th and 75th positions respectively.

Shortlisted practices are competing with high profile projects including the Masdar Institute in Abu Dhabi by Foster + Partners, the Beekman Tower in New York by Gehry Partners and the Evelyn Grace Academy by Zaha Hadid Architects – recent recipient of the 2011 RIBA Stirling Prize.

View the full list of shortlisted Australian projects below, and register your vote for the People’s Choice Award online before Friday 21 October.


Voting closes on 21 October.
Winners will be announced at the World Architecture Festival, which takes place in Barcelona on 3-5 November 2011.

Australian projects shortlisted for WAF 2011
Allen Jack + Cottier, Glass Loggia House
Allen Jack + Cottier, Milson Island Sport and Recreation Centre
Allen Jack + Cottier, Kerrie Murphy Building, The International Grammar School Sydney
Allen Jack + Cottier, Harris Street Studios
Andrew Maynard Architects, Ilma Grove
Andrew Maynard Architects, Mash House
Bates Smart, Crown Metropol
Brian Meyerson Architects, Bondi Penthouse
Brian Meyerson Architects, Teiziera House
Brian Meyerson Architects, House for Andrew
Brian Meyerson Architects, The Viking Apartments
BVN Architecture, Puckapunyal Military Area Memorial Chapel
BVN Architecture, HMAS Creswell Griffiths House
Circa Architecture, Saffire Resort
Circa Architecture, Port Arthur Resort (unbuilt)
Cox Architecture, Kurilpa Bridge
Cox Architecture, Helix Bridge, Singapore
DesignInc, Gippsland Water Factory Vortex Centre
Domenic Alvaro, Small House
Elenberg Fraser, A’Beckett Tower
Elenberg Fraser, Elm Apartments
Fiona Winzar Architects, Orange Grove House
Fiona Winzar Architects, Bromby Street House (unbuilt)
FJMT Surry Hills Library and Community Centre
FJMT, Bayside Police Station
Gray Puksand, La Trobe University
H2O Architects, Avondale Heights Library & Learning Centre
H2O Architects, Swinburne University Advanced Technologies Centre
HASSELL, One40william
HASSELL, Ecosciences Precinct
HBO+EMTB, Lilyfield Housing Redevelopment
HBO+EMTB, Proposition 2065 (unbuilt)
Ian Moore Architects, Strelein Warehouse
Jackson Teece Architecture, 39 Hunter Street
Jackson Teece Architecture, Scott Street Apartments
Jackson Teece Architecture, 39 Hunter Street
JCY Architects and Urban Designers, Trades North TAFE
JCY Architects and Urban Designers, 167 Westralia Plaza
Kerry Hill Architects, State Theatre Centre of Western Australia
Kerry Hill Architects, Aman New Delhi
Kerstin Thompson Architects, Monash University Museum of Art (MUMA)
Kerstin Thompson Architects, Carrum Downs 24hr Police Station
Lahznimmo Architects, Lowy Cancer Research Centre
McBride Charles Ryan, Penleigh and Essendon Grammar – Junior School for boys
McBride Charles Ryan, The Yardmasters Building
NH Architecture, Myer Bourke St Redevelopment
Rice Daubney, The Chris O’Brien Lifehouse at RPA (unbuilt)
Rice Daubney, Liverpool Hospital Clinical Service Block 2 (CSB2)
Sammy Giunta, Glenfield Station Carpark
Suters Architects, S Block
Suters Architects, Maribyrnong Sporting Centre of Excellence
Suters Architects, Richmond Football Club
Suters Architects, UWS Climate Change and Energy Research Facility
Tony Owen Partners, Moebius House
Tony Owen Partners, 12-15 Regent Street
WOHA, Hansar Bangkok
WOHA, Intercontinental Sanya Resort
Woods Bagot, Deakin University, Building I Lecture Theatre
Woods Bagot, South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute (unbuilt)
Woods Bagot, NAB Docklands (unbuilt)

Conversation • 0 comments

Add to this conversation



Your email address will not be published.