Australian Achievement in Architecture Awards

Mar 27, 2012
  • Article by Online Editor
  • Designer

The Australian Institute of Architects hosted its annual Australian Achievement in Architecture Awards (AAAA) at a ceremony at Adelaide Zoo on Wednesday 21 March.

The awards night, first launched in 2010, is an annual event celebrating a number of prizes presented by the Institute that acknowledge the achievements of individuals in the architectural profession.

Australian architecture’s most prestigious accolade, the Gold Medal, was presented to Lawrence Nield.  AIA National President, Brian Zulaikha, said Nield’s “broad and principled approach to architecture reveals an uncommon understanding of our history, the arts, and other intellectual achievements, and his projects draw on a diverse range of architectural interests and studies.” For more on the 2012 Gold Medalist, read our news announcement here.

The inaugural William J. Mitchell Prize was also announced at the event. This new prize is presented in recognition of Australian practitioners who – like Mitchell, a former dean of architecture and planning at MIT – have “made a significant contribution to the profession, study or advancement of architecture beyond our shores”. The 2012 award was presented to John Andrews AO LFRAIA, a past recipient of the Gold Medal (1980) and principal of Toronto-based firm John Andrews Architects.

Andrews was selected as the recipient of the prize for “his original and influential work across three continents, and his commitment to the design of innovative workplaces and educational environments.”

The National President’s Prize was awarded to Lucy Turnbull, Deputy Chair of the Committee for Sydney and an independent member of the Sydney Metropolitan Development Authority and the Commissioner for the AIA’s presence at the 2006 and 2008 Venice Architecture Biennales.

Other winners included Rob Adams and the City Design Division of the City of Melbourne, recipients of the Leadership in Sustainability Prize; Kelly Ratigan, winner of the National Emerging Architect Prize; and Professor Shane Murray, recipient of the Neville Quarry Architectural Education Prize. Dr David O’Brien received a commendation.

Samuel Jeyaseelan was awarded the Student Prize for the Advancement of Architecture, while Adrian Kenyon was the winner of the Colorbond Steel Student Biennale. Commendations were awarded to Tor Dahl, Hannah Robertson and Christopher Trotta.

Five young architects were selected as recipients of the Dulux Study Tour. Anna Maskiell from SKM S2F, Weian Lim from Matt Gibson A+D, Shaun Carter from Carter Williamson, Emily Ouston from Terroir and James Coombe from Architects EAT will embark on a ten-day trip to the UAE, Germany and London in May for the tour, which gives young architects an opportunity to visit world-renowned projects and visit celebrated international practices.

Image Sydney International Tennis Centre, a project by 2012 Gold Medalist Lawrence Nield and BVN (completed 1999).

Conversation • 0 comments

Add to this conversation



Your email address will not be published.