AIA Sunshine Coast Awards announced

May 1, 2012
  • Article by Online Editor
  • Designer

Three projects have been honoured at the Australian Institute of Architects’ 2012 Sunshine Coast Regional Architecture Awards.

Currimundi Beach House by Loucas Zahos Architects was named House of the Year. The project is a series of pavilions, designed in varying scales to provide a transition between the two-storey structures at the street level, the single-storey structures at the beach level and the final minimal pavilion with a canvas roof over a simple timber deck. The jury acknowledged the design of the holiday house “captures the essence of being away from routine, inviting relaxation, retreat and enjoyment of the spectacular beachfront location it shares”.

The Gabriel Poole Award for Building of the Year was jointly awarded to Viridian Noosa: Stage 3 by JMA Architects and Caboolture Hub by Peddle Thorp and James Cubitt Architects.

Viridian Noosa: Stage 3 is the final stage of the residential/resort project Viridian Village. Located in a valley surrounded by wildlife corridors, the project was recognised for its response to a complex site and “a high level of attention to planning, detail and material selection”.

The Caboolture Hub is a 5000-square-metre space housing a library, art gallery, learning centre and café alongside the Caboolture Town Square. Jurors said of the community hub: “This exemplary building demonstrates a high level of public accessibility and engagement and represents an optimistic and commendable investment of public resources by the regional Council.”

All three projects were also recognised with Regional Commendations, while a further eight commendations were awarded on the night. Four houses were commended: Sparks Architects’ Montville Residence, Base Architecture’s Warran, Richard Kirk Architects’ Tinbeerwah Residence and Bark Design Architects’ Pool House.

Bark was also commended for their work on public architecture/urban design project Noosa Junction Station, while BAC Group Architects were also rewarded for Hervey Bay Community Centre.

The Mark Ahern Centre by Project Services was commended in the Sustainable Architecture and Interior Architecture categories, and Stephen Cameron’s North Maleny House was noted in the Small Project Architecture category.

Images (1) Currimundi Beach House, Loucas Zahos Architects. Photo by Adam Sebastian West. (2) Viridian Noosa: Stage 3, JMA Architects. Photo by Tom Kanchanasinith. (3) Caboolture Hub, Peddle Thorp and James Cubitt Architects. Photo by Roger D’Souza

Conversation • 0 comments

Add to this conversation



Your email address will not be published.