AIA National Awards

Oct 28, 2010
  • Article by Online Editor

Thirty-three awards and commendations were presented at the 2010 Australian Institute of Architects (AIA) National Architecture Awards last night for work that demonstrated a combination of “community spirit, intensity, humility, beauty and hope for the future”.

This year’s projects were judged with sustainability and enduring architecture in mind, said Jury Chair Melanie Dodson. “We were heartened by the many instances of architects demonstrating leadership, advocacy and innovation,” she said, adding that many designs proposed new ideas for the profession and for the community.

HASSELL was recognised with three awards at the ceremony, including the top honour of the 2010 Sir Zelman Cowen Award for Public Architecture for the Epping to Chatswood Rail Link, Intermediate Stations in Sydney – described by Dodson as “a project of unique competence and beauty that derives its architecture through common sense with sensitive design solutions.”

HASSELL also received the Emil Sodersten Award for Interior Architecture for the [“ANZ Centre”:https://www.australiandesignreview.com/design_wall/18257-ANZ-Centre-Architects-in-collaboration-HASSELL-and-Lend-Lease-Design] in Melbourne, and a National Commendation for Urban Design for the Adelaide Zoo Entrance Precinct.

Three projects commissioned by the City of Sydney were awarded across five categories. The [“Surry Hills Library and Community Centre”:https://www.australiandesignreview.com/design_wall/12618-Surry-Hills-Library-and-Community-Centre-Francis-Jones-Morehen-Thorp] by Francis-Jones Morehen Thorp (fjmt) received a National Award for Public Architecture and a National Award for Sustainable Architecture, while [“Pirrama Park”:https://www.australiandesignreview.com/design_wall/12858-The-New-Park-at-the-Former-Water-Police-Site-ASPECT-Studios-Landscape-Architects-Hill-Thalis-Architecture-Urban-Projects] by Thalis Architecture + Urban Design Projects/Aspect Studios/CAB was awarded the Walter Burley Griffin Award for Urban Design. Tonkin Zulaikha Greer’s collaboration with JMD Design and the City of Sydney on [“Paddington Reservoir Gardens”:https://www.australiandesignreview.com/projects/12586-Paddington-Reservoir-Gardens-Tonkin-Zulaikha-Greer-James-Mather-Delaney-Design] was awarded with a National Award for Urban Design and a National Award for Heritage.

The Harry Seidler Award for Commercial Architecture went to Durbach Block Architects for 5-9 Roslyn Street in Sydney’s Kings Cross, a project that “would adapt and change gracefully to changes in commercial use over time – a mark of an exemplar commercial building.”

Wood Marsh was presented with the Colorbond Award for Steel Architecture for the [“Australian Expo Pavilion”:https://www.australiandesignreview.com/projects/16635-Australian-Pavilion-Shanghai-Expo-2010-Wood-Marsh] in China, “a building that is about and from Australia. It’s like a great big piece of the Australian landscape transplanted into the fairgrounds,” the jury said.

In the residential awards, HBV Architects received the Robin Boyd Award for Residential Architecture – Houses for Trial Bay House, the first time a Tasmanian project has won the accolade. The Frederick Romberg Award for Residential Architecture – Multiple Housing was awarded to Donovan Hill for the Seaspray Resort and Spa at Zilzie in Queensland.

The Barcaldine Tree of Knowledge Memorial by Brian Hooper Architect and m3architecture received the Lachlan Macquarie Award for Heritage and a National Commendation for Public Architecture. The jury described the “compelling architectural vision” as this year’s “most powerful story of collaboration, leadership and perseverance between client and architect.”

The Department of Public Works/Peter Partridge received the 25 Year Award for Enduring Architecture for Hobart’s Supreme Court Complex.

WOHA achieved a triple win in the International Architecture category, receiving the Jørn Utzon Award for International Architecture for The Met in Bangkok, a National Award for International Architecture for Bras Basah Mass Rapid Transit Station in Singapore, and a National Commendation for International Architecture for Alila Villas Uluwatu in Bali. National Awards for International Architecture were also presented to watson architecture + design for Kesho Leo Children’s Home in Tanzania and Peter Stutchbury Architecture with Kelli Ashizawa Design for Wall House in Japan. Kerry Hill Architectures also received a National Commendation for International Architecture for Aman New Delhi.

Conversation • 0 comments

Add to this conversation


29 Oct 10 at 5:34 AM • A Nimmo

How is it that a project is not considered worth inspecting one year and then picks up the Sulman and Zelman Cowen the next. What does that say about the jury system.

29 Oct 10 at 2:18 PM • Michael Roper

That one man’s trash is another man’s treasure and that ‘awards’ should not be mistaken for ‘truths’. Nevertheless, congratulations to this year’s winners!


Your email address will not be published.