AIA National Architecture Awards 2011

Nov 7, 2011
  • Article by Online Editor
  • Designer

The recipients of this year’s Australian Institute of Architects (AIA) National Architecture Awards were revealed at a ceremony held at the Museum of Old and New Art (MONA) in Hobart, Tasmania on 3 November.

Brian Zulaikha, National President of the AIA, said this year’s winning projects “clearly demonstrate the diversity, quality and imagination that is inherent in Australian architecture, from large-scale public buildings through to the most intimate domestic spaces.” He added: “The diversity of thinking they reveal was unimaginable a decade ago”.

Jury Chair Karl Fender said the jury was particularly impressed with public projects including the Australian War Memorial, AAMI Park in Melbourne, the State Theatre of Western Australia and the Cairns Cruise Terminal. He added: “A highlight of the awards was the extent to which the most pragmatic requirements of extremely functional briefs were so consistently translated into the highest levels of design excellence and sustainable outcomes.”

Thirty-four awards and commendations were presented across 12 categories on the night.

The most prestigious of the awards, the Sir Zelman Cowen Award for Public Architecture, was presented to Johnson Pilton Walker’s Australian War Memorial Eastern Precinct in the ACT. The project was also awarded a National Award for Urban Design.

Cox Architecture’s AAMI Park stadium in Melbourne was presented with the National Award for Public Architecture, while Arkhefield and Total Project Group Architects in association were the winners of the Lachlan Macquarie Award for Heritage for their Cairns Cruise Terminal, which revitalises a heritage listed wharf building on the Cairns waterfront.

Kerry Hill Architects’ State Theatre of Western Australia was the winner of the Emil Sodersten Award for Interior Architecture, while m3architecture’s Nudgee College Tierney Auditorium was presented with a National Award for Interior Architecture.

In the commercial categories, HASSELL’s Ecosciences Precinct in Brisbane was the recipient of the Harry Seidler Award for Commercial Architecture, with NH Architecture’s Myer Bourke Street Redevelopment awarded a National Award for Commercial Architecture.

The main residential award, the Robyn Boyd Award for Residential Architecture – Houses, was presented to Castlecrag House by Neeson Murcutt Architects. Renato D’Ettorre Architects and Denton Corker Marshall were each presented with a National Award for Residential Architecture – Houses for Solis in Queensland and Zinc House (Gallery House) in Victoria respectively.

Other residential winners included Candalepas Associates, recipient of the Frederick Romberg Award for Residential Architecture – Multiple Housing for their Waterloo Street project in Sydney’s Surry Hills. Two Victorian multi-residential projects were presented with National Awards: Elenberg Fraser’s A’Beckett Tower, and Hayball’s John Street, Box Hill.

Domenic Alvaro’s Small House took home the National Award for Small Project Architecture, while on the other end of the scale, HASSELL’s one40william project – occupying an entire city block in Perth – was the winner of the Walter Burley Griffin Award for Urban Design.

International winners included WOHA’s School of the Arts in Singapore (winner of the Jorn Utzon Award for International Architecture) and Kerry Hill Architects’ Amankora in Bhutan (winner of an Award for International Architecture).

Peter Stutchbury’s The Hangar was the winner of the Colorbond Award for Steel Architecture, while Glen Murcutt’s Magney House in Bingie Bingie, NSW was presented with the National Enduring Architecture Award. The National Award for Sustainable Architecture was awarded to DesignInc’s Innova21 at The University of Adelaide.

An exhibition featuring the winning projects will be on display at the Gallery of Australian Design in Canberra from 9 November until 10 December 2011.

Conversation • 0 comments

Add to this conversation



Your email address will not be published.