AIA International Award finalists revealed

Jul 24, 2013
  • Article by Online Editor
  • Designer

Above: Martin No.38 by Kerry Hill Architects. Photo by Albert Limks

The Australian Institute of Architects’ (AIA) International Area Committee has selected six projects out of a group of twenty-six as finalists for the AIA’s 2013 Jorn Utzon Award for International Architecture.

Martin No.38 by Kerry Hill Architects. Photo by Albert Limks


The six buildings are dispersed around the globe, from Japan to New Zealand to America, and each has been completed by Institute members living abroad and members undertaking commission work overseas.

Australia House, by Andrew Burns Architect in association with Atelier Imamu. Photo by Brett Boardman


Andrew Burns Architect’s Australia House in Niigata, Japan – a modest studio and art gallery completed in 2012 following an international competition – is in contention, as is Kerry Hill Architects’ residential development in Singapore, Martin No.38.

387 Tamaki Drive by Ian Moore Architects. Photo by Daniel Mayne


Also on the shortlist is Ian Moore Architects’ 387 Tamaki Drive – a commercial and residential project in Auckland, and Peter Stutchbury Architecture’s Silver House in Cherepovets, Russia – a residence constructed from prefabricated steel panels that reportedly reduces energy consumption by more than 60 per cent.

Silver House by Peter Stutchbury Architecture. Photo by Peter Stutchbury


Two USA-based residential projects by Koning Eizenberg Architecture complete the list of finalists: 28th Street Apartments in Los Angeles and Sobieski House in South Pasadena.

28th Street Apartments by Koning Eizenberg Architecture. Photo by Eric Staudenmaier


All six projects will now be considered by the 2013 National Architecture Awards jury, comprising of Immediate Past President, Shelley Penn, WOHA founder and director, Richard Hassell, South Australian Government Architect, Ben Hewett, Tribe Studio director, Hannah Tribe, and architectural editor, writer and critic, Justine Clark.

Sobieski House by Koning Eizenberg Architecture. Photo by Eric Staudenmaier


The 2013 winner of the Australian Institute of Architects’ Jorn Utzon Award for International Architecture will be announced at the National Architecture Awards night, to be held on Thursday 7 November at the Sydney Opera House.

Conversation • 0 comments

Add to this conversation



Your email address will not be published.