AIA 2011 NSW Architecture Awards

Jul 11, 2011
  • Article by Online Editor

BVN Architecture’s Brain and Mind Research Institute (BMRI) – Youth Mental Health Building has been awarded the top prize at the Australian Institute of Architects (AIA) 2011 NSW Architecture Awards.

The “standout project” was awarded the Sulman Award for Public Architecture, in a design that is “uniting patients, carers, clinicians and scientists working in the fields of neuroscience and mental health, in a refreshingly engaging off-campus facility.”

Tonkin Zulaikha Greer was presented with the top award for urban design projects, receiving the Lloyd Rees Award for Urban Design for their National Centre of Indigenous Excellence in Redfern. The project, which also received a commendation for public architecture, “provides an important community hub for Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal users alike,” said the jurors.

Bates Smart were the recipients of the state’s top commercial architecture award, winning the Sir Arthur G. Stephenson Award for Commercial Architecture for 420 George Street – an “intelligent and well executed response to a complex site and program”.

BVN Architecture were also awarded with the John Verge Award for Interior Architecture, for the practice’s own [“studio fitout”:https://www.australiandesignreview.com/design_wall/23613-Architecture-BVN-Sydney-Studio-BVN-Architecture]. Two Architecture Awards for Interior Architecture were presented to Bates Smart’s Conneq and Ian Moore Architects’ [“Strelein Warehouse”:https://www.australiandesignreview.com/design_wall/23650-Architecture-Strelein-Warehouse-Ian-Moore-Architects].

mck architects were presented with the state’s top residential award, receiving the Wilkinson Award for Residential Architecture for their “bold, energetic” [“DPR House”:https://www.australiandesignreview.com/projects/20975-DPR-House-Marsh-Cashman-Koolloos-Architects] at Darling Point, a project that “demonstrates how planning constraints can contribute to the shaping of the process, which results in a bold approach to design.”

Architecture Awards for new single houses were also presented to Durbach Block Jaggers Architects for [“Garden House”:https://www.australiandesignreview.com/projects/21582-Garden-House-Durbach-Block-Architects], and Domenic Alvaro for Small House. In the Single Housing – Alterations and Additions category, both Chenchow Little Architects’ Skylight House and Neeson Murcutt Architects’ Castlecrag House were recognised with Architecture Awards.

Candalepas Associates received the Aaron Bolot Award for Multiple Housing for Waterloo Street, and also received an Architecture Award in the same category for their Francis Street apartments in Bondi.

Domenic Alvaro’s Small House was also presented with the Small Project Architecture Award, while in the sustainable category Luigi Rosselli Architects were the recipients of the Milo Dunphy Award for Elamang Avenue.

The Greenway Award for Heritage was presented to Design 5 – Architects for St James’ Church, King Street, a restoration project reviving the oldest church building in Sydney originally designed by convict architect Francis Greenway. The Enduring Architecture Award, for projects of 25 years of more, was awarded to Glenn Murcutt’s Magney House in Bingie Bingie on the NSW south coast.

Peter Stutchbury Architecture’s The Hangar at Cessnock Airport, a building housing a small fleet of former military aircraft for tourist flights over the Hunter Valley, received the Colorbond Award for Steel Architecture.

Other winners included NSW Government Architect Peter Mould, who was presented with the President’s Prize; Caroline Pidcock, who received the Marion Mahony Griffin Prize; Austin McFarland Architects, recipient of the Blacket Prize for Regional Architecture for the Hall and Library at St Joseph’s Primary School, Wingham; and lahznimmo architects, who were awarded the Premier’s Prize for the Warragamba Dam Masterplan Works.

Conversation • 0 comments

Add to this conversation



Your email address will not be published.