AIA 2009 Architecture Awards announced

Oct 29, 2009
  • Article by Online Editor
  • Photography by Murray Fredericks

The winners of the 2009 National Architecture Awards, hosted by the Australian Institute of Architects, have been announced, with 32 awards and commendations awarded to national and international projects.

Johnson Pilton Walker’s National Portrait Gallery in Canberra received the 2009 Sir Zelman Cowen Award for Public Architecture, the top award of the evening. The gallery also won a National Architecture Award for Interior Architecture.

Jury chair Howard Tanner said the project, “seeks to resolve a public presence and public gallery with the intimate, often domestic-scaled nature of portraiture.”

The ivy in Sydney, designed by Woods Bagot in collaboration with Merivale Group and Hecker Phelan & Guthrie, won the Harry Seidler Award for Commercial Architecture as well as a National Award for Urban Design. The jury commended the project, which “has been fused into the city’s fabric in a presentable and ingenious way.”

The Jorn Utzon Award for International Architecture was won by a small project located in New York City’s Times Square – the TKTS Booth/Redevelopment of Duffy Square, New York by Sydney firm Choi Ropiha, with Perkins Eastman, PKSB. The two-part design features translucent red steps that terrace upwards, giving the public a new perspective of Times Square; and a booth tucked beneath the stairs.

The Melbourne Recital Centre and MTC Theatre Project by ARM received the Emil Sodersten Award for Interior Architecture for the “distinctive and memorable interiors… The most important aspect of the development is the performing arts spaces, their adequacy, sightlines and acoustics. All three are effectively boxes within boxes, isolated from the outside world and the ground to minimise noise and vibration transfer.”

Chenchow Little Architects won the top residential award of the night, the Robin Boyn Award for Residential Architecture – Houses, for Freshwater House, a project located on Sydney’s northern beaches, which “provides an outstanding solution for an elevated site”.

The second residential category, for multiple housing, saw Wood Marsh Architecture in assiciation with Sunland Design walk away with the Frederick Romberg Award for Residential Architecture – Multiple Housing, for their 22-storey Balencea Apartments on St Kilda road in Melbourne.

Other winners on the night included Falkinger and Andronas, Architects, Heritage Consultants, for their conservation of St Paul’s Cathedral in Melbourne, as well as Yuncken, Freeman Brothers, Griffiths and Simpson, who received the National 25 Year Award for Enduring Architecture for The Sidney Myer Music Bowl – “a much loved icon, and part of the social fabric of Melbourne and the nation.”

[“A full list of winners is available on the AIA website”:].

*1* JPW’s National Portrait Gallery, Canberra
*2* The ivy by Woods Bagot in collaboration with Merivale Group and Hecker Phelan & Guthrie

Conversation • 0 comments

Add to this conversation



Your email address will not be published.