Johnson Pilton Walker sweeps triple win at AIA ACT Awards

July 6, 2009

National Portrait Gallery in one of the most significant public places in Australia takes top honours at the ACT Architecture Awards.

Described by Jury Chair Bronwen Jones as a building with “great strength and modesty”, the National Portrait Gallery has been awarded the 2009 Canberra Medallion, the Romaldo Giurgola Award for Public Architecture and the highly coveted Light in Architecture Prize.

This year’s ceremony also the inaugural John’s Andrews Award for Commercial Architecture go to Bates Smart for the NSW Government Service Centre in Queanbeyan. The Centre was noted as a “positive contribution to the Queanbeyan streetscape … a model for a new civic building type”.

The major residential awards were presented to Collins Caddaye Architects for the Forrest Residence, while the Mt Franklin Visitor Shelter by the University of South Australia was honoured with the Small Project Architecture Award and the Colorbond Award for Steel Architecture.

For the complete list of winners, see ["":]

Leave a Reply

Sign up to Australian Design Review's Newsletter

Receive the latest:

  • news, insights, opinions from the interior design and architecture community
  • coverage on latest projects, videos and new products updates
  • events and job listings.

Sign up now!

Sign up to the newsletter