Star line-up for new architecture school

June 2, 2009

Vice Chancellor Glyn Davis announces an international line-up of architects for the competition to design a new University of Melbourne landmark building.

The University of Melbourne has selected six finalists to compete for the commission to design a new building for the Faculty of Architecture, Building and Planning (ABP), expected to cost $110 million. The competition received 133 submissions in its first stage, from 15 different countries. The second stage submissions are due in August.

The jury included Melbourne architect Peter Elliot, acclaimed French architect Odile Decq, University of Melbourne Vice Chancellor Glyn Davis (Chair) and Dean of Architecture Tom Kvan.

Most of the short-listed teams included Melbourne practices aligned with larger global practices, with McBride Charles Ryan the only team going it alone.

The six short-listed finalists are:

* Denton Corker Marshall Pty Ltd
* Diller Scofidio + Renfro
* John Wardle Architects & Office dA
* KoningEizenberg with William J Mitchell and Gehry Technologies
* McBride Charles Ryan
* Sauerbruch Hutton with NH Architecture

Leave a Reply

Keep up-to-date with our bi-weekly newsletter

You’ll get

  • News, insights and features from the interior design and architecture community
  • Coverage on the latest projects, products and people
  • Events and job updates

Join now!

Sign up to the newsletter