World Architecture Festival presents inaugural Wood Excellence Prize

May 12, 2014

Architects and designers of all shortlisted projects will be invited to attend the 2014 WAF and give a live presentation to a panel of judges, asserting their case for why their project should win.

The World Architecture Festival (WAF) has announced that this year’s WAF awards programme will feature a Wood Excellence Prize for the first time. Entries are free and are open to any type of project as long as wood has been used as an integral part in it.

If shortlisted, the designers or architects responsible will be invited to present their project to the prize judges live at the festival. The winner will be announced at the WAF awards ceremony on Friday, 3 October 2014 in Singapore.

Noted architect and designer, Matteo Thun, will chair the jury for the Wood Excellence Prize. Thun said, “Wood, as a renewable resource material, is indispensable in architecture and design. Our daily challenge is to achieve projects and products that are sustainable, of timeless beauty, pure and simple, but at the same time technically and environmentally innovative. The new Wood Excellence Prize will reinforce this intention and I am very pleased to be involved in this very prestigious event.”

The prize will be sponsored by the American Hardwood Export Council (AHEC). The company’s regional director, Rod Wiles, said, “It makes perfect sense to be collaborating with the World Architecture Festival to create a new award for excellence in wood. Given some of the exciting uses of wood I have seen in recent architectural projects whilst visiting Australia and New Zealand I’m expecting a number of high calibre entries from the region.”

The WAF awards sit at the heart of the festival, and will see practices from around the world compete across 28 individual award categories for global recognition.

Competing across three category groups of completed buildings, landscape projects and future projects, previous WAF award entrants have ranged from renowned global architectural firms to small local practices.

The winners of each category are put forward to compete for the coveted World Building of the Year award, presided over by the festival’s ‘super-jury’, with the presentation of the award being the culmination of WAF 2014.

Last day to submit entries for the Wood Excellence Prize is 30 May.


Leave a Reply

Keep up-to-date with our bi-weekly newsletter

You’ll get

  • News, insights and features from the interior design and architecture community
  • Coverage on the latest projects, products and people
  • Events and job updates

Join now!

Sign up to the newsletter