2012 Eat-Drink-Design Awards winners announced

October 25, 2012

The inaugural Eat-Drink-Design Awards were announced at 28 Lounge and Sky Bar, at Crown Metropol in Melbourne, on Tuesday night.

Above: Chasing Kitsune by HASSELL. Photo by Bonnie Savage

The inaugural Eat-Drink-Design Awards were announced at 28 Lounge and Sky Bar, at Crown Metropol in Melbourne, on Tuesday night. Over 300 designers, architects and hospitality clients from Australia and New Zealand congregated to celebrate the new annual awards program.

Chosen from a shortlist of 157 projects were eight winners and 24 highly commended projects. The 40-year-old Jimmy Watson’s Wine Bar – designed in 1962 by Robin Boyd and Frederick Romberg in Carlton, Melbourne – was also inducted into the Hall of Fame for its contribution to Australian modernism.

The winners were:

Best Bar Design

Winner – Pretty Please by Travis Walton
Highly commended – Bishop of Ostia by Figureground Architecture; Lui Bar by Elenberg Fraser; Matilda Bay Brewer’s Canteen by Di Mase Architects; The National Hotel by Breathe Architecture; The Waiting Room by 1:1 Architects in association with Grant Cheyne

Best Restaurant Design

Winners (joint) – The Spice Temple Melbourne by 1:1 Architects in association with Grant Cheyne; The Apollo by George Livissianis Interior/Architecture
Highly commended – Bridge Room by Tobias Partners; Eno Pizzeria by Chris Connell Design; Momofuku Seibo by Luchetti Krelle; Newmarket Hotel by Six Degrees Architects; Restaurant Arras by Colourmark Design; The Grill Restaurant by Andrew Lister Architect; Vue de Monde by Elenberg Fraser

Adriano Zumbo by Luchetti Krelle. Photo by Murray Fredericks


Best Cafe Design

Winner – Third Wave Cafe by Tony Hobba Architects
Highly commended – Corner Store Cafe by Richards & Spence; Mister Close by Russell & George; Shortgrain by George Livissianis Interior/Architecture; The Grounds of Alexandria by Caroline Choker; Two:Bob by DesignOffice

Best Temporary Design

Winner – Chasing Kitsune by HASSELL and Schiavello
Highly commended – Fisher & Paykel – The Social Kitchen 2012 by Alt Group; Tabcorp Marquee 2010 by Mim Design

Baker D Chirico, visual identity by Fabio Ongarato Design. Photo by Peter Bennetts


Best Retail Design

Winner – Adriano Zumbo by Luchetti Krelle
Highly commended – Albert St Food & Wine by Fiona Drago Architect; Flying Fish + Chips – The Star by Bongiorno Hawkins & Associates; La Croix by BKH

Best Visual Identity Design

Winners (joint) – D.O.C. by ERD; Baker D. Chirico by Fabio Ongarato Design
Highly commended – Ladro Greville by Langtry Kierce; Patricia by Beyond the Pixels

Leave a Reply

Keep up-to-date with our bi-weekly newsletter

You’ll get

  • News, insights and features from the interior design and architecture community
  • Coverage on the latest projects, products and people
  • Events and job updates

Join now!

Sign up to the newsletter