RMIT students win SuperStudio competition

September 12, 2012

Three RMIT students win the 2012 SuperStudio challenge, a 24-hour design competition run by the student community of the AIA, SONA.

A team of three Victorian students from RMIT University has won the SuperStudio design competition, a 24-hour design challenge organised by the student body of the Australian Institute of Architects (AIA).

Entitled ‘Mark’, the winning proposal – from Ben Kazacos, Brock Hogan (both 5th year Landscape Architecture, RMIT) and Phoebe Baker-Gabb (4th year Interior Design, RMIT) – explores a participatory approach to architecture, with a result defined by the user.  Using modules each containing a grid of pencils, the scheme enables individuals to create their own piece of the drawing, which then forms part of a collective work.

The team said of their entry: “Our final design, aptly named Mark, seeks to create architecture that is both personal and collective, specific and general. Mark aims to extend user engagement beyond physical interaction and perhaps beyond the life of the architecture itself.”

Run by the Student Organised Network for Architecture (SONA), SuperStudio is a 24-hour design competition open to students from across the country. This year’s competition brief was compiled by Tim Pyke and Mark Raggatt of Ashton Raggatt McDougall Architects (ARM). Themed ‘Shifting Sands’, it asked students to create a manifesto describing the future of architecture as an artistic and professional pursuit.

Participating students received the brief on the evening of Friday 3 August, and were required to present to a state jury on Saturday 4 August. State juries selected their finalists, who were then given a further 10 days to develop their proposals in preparation for a national judging day.

The winners received return flights and entry to the 2012 Venice Architecture Biennale. Four commendations were also awarded:
‘Disposable’, Sebastian Smith, Scott Beeby & Aaron Chen (Griffith University & QUT)
‘Bunnings’, Michael Collins, Daisy Xu & Nigel Lim (University of Melbourne)
‘Form follows FN’, Simon Del Favero & Marshall Blecher (University of Sydney)
‘Architecture for Architects’, Ben Spinetti, William Munn & Rio Murase (University of Sydney)

Leave a Reply

Keep up-to-date with our bi-weekly newsletter

You’ll get

  • News, insights and features from the interior design and architecture community
  • Coverage on the latest projects, products and people
  • Events and job updates

Join now!

Sign up to the newsletter