2011 ACT Architecture Awards announced

June 9, 2011

“Architectural mastery” of JPW’s Australian War Memorial earns top honours at the Institute’s ACT Architecture Awards.

The recent work on the Australian War Memorial in Canberra by architects Johnson Pilton Walker has been rewarded top honours at the Australian Institute of Architects (AIA) 2011 ACT Architecture Awards.

JPW’s project received five awards, including the Canberra Medallion, The Romaldo Giurgola Award for Public Architecture, The Sir John Overall Award for Urban Design and the W. Hayward Morris Award for Interior Architecture. The project was also recognised with an Inlite Light in Architecture Prize.

ACT jury chair Shelley Penn said the project was an “outstanding recipient” of the top state award, the Canberra Medallion, demonstrating “architectural mastery and excellence at every level”.

Penn said the masterplan, which Johnson Pilton Walker has been working on since 2001, “is an enduring contribution to a precinct which embodies our respect for the spirit and attitude of the servicemen and women who made the supreme sacrifice.”

“The café, forecourt and National Service Memorial Courtyard are sensitive in architectural conception, powerful in composition, delicate and precise in construction, refined and exquisite in their simplicity, and delightfully integrated into the immediate and greater landscape.”

Other winners at the awards, announced in Canberra on Saturday 4 June, included Philip Leeson Architects’ Slater White House, which received the Named Award for Residential Architecture – Houses and the Colorbond Award for Steel Architecture; and BVN Architecture’s HMAS Creswell Griffith House and Colin Stewart’s Kingsgate – Ten Houses O’Malley in the Residential Architecture – Multiple Housing category.

Daryl Jackson Alistair Swayn’s University of Canberra International Microsimulation Centre (NATSEM) received a Public Architecture Award as well as a Sustainable Architecture Award.

The Art in Architecture Award was awarded to Fender Katsalidis Architects in association with Pamille Berg Consulting, Oculus and PBS Building for NewActon South Tower Art Program. The jury praised the program’s bold integration of art into the project, saying: “This Program shows how a genuine, intelligent and rigorous approach can add enormous value to the public realm, to a thriving and dynamic art culture and to the private benefits of those who enjoy them on a daily basis.”

Collins Caddaye Architects was presented with two public architecture awards, for the Holy Trinity Early earning Centre and the Bonython Community Hall. The practice also received a residential architecture award for the Lagos House.

Lahznimmo architects and Spackman Mossop Michaels Landscape Architects received an urban design award for the Humanities and Science Campus Place, while Jigsaw’s Franklin House was awarded in the sustainable architecture category.

The 2011 Award for Enduring Architecture was presented to the “well loved and well used” Red Hill Primary School by the Department of Works, built in 1960.

In all, 33 awards, commendations and prizes were presented to projects selected from a record number of 56 entries, which the Institute says was up by around 50 percent from 2010. All winners now qualify for the prestigious National Architecture Awards, to be held at MONA in Hobart, Tasmania this November.

Leave a Reply

Keep up-to-date with our bi-weekly newsletter

You’ll get

  • News, insights and features from the interior design and architecture community
  • Coverage on the latest projects, products and people
  • Events and job updates

Join now!

Sign up to the newsletter