Mies van der Rohe prize 2011

March 23, 2011

Hadid, Nouvel, Chipperfield and Tschumi on the shortlist for the 2011 Mies van der Rohe prize.

Six firms have been named as finalists in the 2011 Mies van der Rohe Prize, awarded every two years to acknowledge architectural excellence in Europe.

Projects by Zaha Hadid, Jean Nouvel, David Chipperfield, Bernard Tschumi, MDMA and Koen van Velsen have been selected from over 340 buildings completed in 33 European countries for the 2011 shortlist.

Hadid’s MAXXI Museum of XXI Century Arts in Rome, which won the RIBA Stirling Prize in 2010, will compete against Nouvel’s Concert House Danish Radio in Copenhagen and Chipperfield’s Neues Museum Berlin.

Tschumi’s Acropolis Museum in Athens, MDMA’s Bronks Youth Theatre in Brussels and Koen van Velsen’s Rehabilitation Centre Groot Klimmendaal in Arnhem complete the shortlist.

The prize is an initiative of the European Union, and is organized by the Fundacio Mies van der Rohe in Barcelona. It aims to promote the contribution of European architects to the development of new ideas and technology within the industry.

The prize was first awarded in 1988, and has been the official architecture prize of the EU since 2000. Past winners include Snøhetta’s Norwegian National Opera and Ballet in Oslo (2009), Mansilla y Tuñón’s MUSAC Contemporary Art Museum of Castilla y León (2007) and OMA’s Netherlands Embassy in Berlin (2005).

The winner of the 2011 prize will be announced on 20 June at a ceremony held at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona.

Leave a Reply

Keep up-to-date with our bi-weekly newsletter

You’ll get

  • News, insights and features from the interior design and architecture community
  • Coverage on the latest projects, products and people
  • Events and job updates

Join now!

Sign up to the newsletter