SOYA finalists announced

October 12, 2010

Kristian Aus, Alex Gilmour and Gavin Bufton among the finalists for the Qantas Spirit of Youth Awards.

The finalists in the 2010 Qantas Spirit of Youth Awards (SOYA) have been announced, with designers from the fields of fashion, film, product design, photography, music, visual arts and visual communication all in the running to win a $10,000 prize of flights and cash.

SOYA is a grants program promoting emerging talent across a broad range of creative fields. As well as the $10,000 prize, the program provides the winners with the opportunity to build a professional relationship with creative leaders and grow their businesses. Winners will learn the ropes from the likes of product designer Marc Newson, fashion designers Zimmermann, illustrator and art director Deanne Cheuk, producer Jan Chapman and curator Liz Ann Macgregor.

Kristian Aus, Alex Gilmour and Gavin Bufton are the three finalists in the industrial & object design category. Category mentor Marc Newson will now select one of the three as the winner, offering professional guidance supported by the $10,000 prize.

Sydney-based Kristian Aus runs his own design company, ["Autumn Products":]. Aus designs fun, fresh and approachable designs including the United Stool, a lightweight aluminium stool that doubles as a side table when flipped over; and the Metal Petal light, a table lamp that can sit on any of its four sides.

Alex Gilmour co-founded ["The Evie Group":] with fellow designer Dominic Chong. The young company’s designs are classic and understated, with ranges including the Frederick collection of glass jugs and tumblers; and the white Emily ceramic tea set.

["Gavin Bufton":] is a Sydney-based RMIT graduate, who has spent several years working in China. Recent designs include the Teether porcelain toothbrush holder; and Eggos, a sculptural piece of furniture with a stainless steel surface.

Other finalists include Cybele Malinowski, Penny Lane and Stacey Russell for photography; Tom Polo, Clare Peake and Bennett Miller for visual arts; and Ariel Kleiman, Ian Meadows and Laura Dudgeon for film.

For the first time, this year the SOYA program also incorporates a People’s Choice Award – asking the public to vote for Australia’s most outstanding young creatives. Voting is open until 1 November. Vote online at ["":]

Leave a Reply

Keep up-to-date with our bi-weekly newsletter

You’ll get

  • News, insights and features from the interior design and architecture community
  • Coverage on the latest projects, products and people
  • Events and job updates

Join now!

Sign up to the newsletter