Evolve Awards: top 25 announced

August 25, 2010

The semi-finalists in the Designer Rugs Evolve Awards have been announced.

The top 25 designs in Designer Rugs’ inaugural Evolve Awards have been unveiled, with voting now open for the People’s Choice Award.

Over 850 entries were received from architects, interior designers and design industry professionals in Australia and New Zealand. Submissions were judged according to overall concept and originality of design, innovation in rug design, commercial viability and a demonstrated understanding of the construction of hand-made rugs.

The 25 shortlisted designs are now competing for the top prize of a return trip to Milan Salone de Mobile 2011.

The shortlisted designers are: Jo Mitton (2 designs), Kent Gration, Emma Elizabeth (2 designs), Louise McGregor (2 designs), Georgia Ezra, Lachlan Allen, Jan Friedman, Lauren Cameron, Edward Wong, Fiona Dunin, Fukutoshi Ueno, Jeanette Fallon, Gavin Harris, Jessica Graham, Robyn Hammond, Sarah Marriott, Patricia Castagnet, Nina Exarhos, Rebecca Boland ( 2 designs), Matthew Waterfall, Daryl Maguire.

The winning entry together with the designs of five runners-up will also be included in the Designer Rugs ID Collection 2010/2011, with a limited edition of 30.

The People’s Choice award winner will share a prize pool of $1,000 with one person who successfully votes for the winning design.

Winners will be announced at a launch event in November 2010.

To view all 25 designs and vote for the People’s Choice Award, visit the ["Designer Rugs Evolve Awards":] website.

Leave a Reply

Sign up to Australian Design Review's Newsletter

Receive the latest:

  • news, insights, opinions from the interior design and architecture community
  • coverage on latest projects, videos and new products updates
  • events and job listings.

Sign up now!

Sign up to the newsletter