Loading Events

Boral Design Award

With a focus on adaptive reuse, this year's competition calls for innovative conceptual solutions to suburban residential building design


The Boral Design Award challenges architects and students to contribute to the future of our cities and communities by proposing innovative conceptual solutions to residential building design.

The Boral Design Award 2011/2012 focuses on adaptive reuse – challenging entrants to consider how they might transform an existing commercial building into a medium-density residential or mixed-use development, with a prize pool of $34,000.

The competition, now in its sixth year, has in its different iterations over the years offered architects an opportunity to test ideas in relation to suburban residential design. The focus of the competition this year shifts away from the single suburban home, and concentrates instead on the use of existing building stock.

This year’s brief calls for a scheme that adapts an existing commercial property in an inner-city suburb, specifying from the extensive range of Boral products including decorative and structural timber, bricks and blocks, plasterboard, pavers, decorative and structural concrete, retaining walls, roof tiles, windows and doors. 50 percent of the existing building fabric should be preserved and incorporated in the concept, while passive design principles including natural daylight penetration and cross ventilation must be considered.

The competition is open to professionals and students across three categories:
Professional, open to architects, building designers, landscape designers and homebuilders. Prize: $20,000
Emerging Professional, open to architects and designers that have graduated and have been in practice for up to 5 years. Prize: $10,000
Student, open to architectural or building design students enrolled at a university or TAFE. Prize: $4,000

Entries will be judged by a panel of experts, including Peter Colquhoun, architect and presenter of television show Great Australian Sandcastles; Rachel Neeson, director of Neeson Murcutt Architects; Stuart Harrison, broadcaster, author and director of Harrison and White Architects; and Maitiú Ward, Editor-in-Chief of Architectural Review Australia magazine.

Download the competition brief and entry guidelines at www.boral.com.au/designawards

Image Boral Design Award 2010 winner: Courtyard House, by Aidan Murphy and Aaron Peters (Cox Rayner Architects/Kerry Hill Architects)


September 20, 2011
March 1, 2012


Boral Design Award

Related Event